Waterfowl Hunt Map
• Hunting in violation of any Delaware State law or any other Federal wildlife related law is a violation of refuge hunting regulations. Consult Delaware’s Division of Fish and Wildlife’s publications or website for current hunting regulations.• Visitors when requested by Federal or State enforcement officers must display for inspection all permits, game, equipment, and ammunition.• Waterfowl hunting is only permitted from government blind sites except in the Snow Goose Area and the South Upland Hunting Area. Blinds will be allocated to only 1 party per day. • All hunters, except in the South Upland Area, must obtain a daily permit before a hunt. Hunters under 16 years of age must be accompanied by a licensed hunter at least 18 years of age. Only non-hunting adults may accompany a permitted juvenile. • Permits must be returned to their designated return locations at the end of every hunting day.• All boats must be launched from authorized launching sites. Visitors must follow all Federal and State boating regulations.• All vehicle travel is restricted to maintained gravel roads and parking areas. • Hunters must remove all hunting stands, blinds, boats, decoys, personal property and trash at the end of each hunting day.• Hunt areas may be closed completely or in part, without notice during hazardous conditions like wind, icy roads, etc.• Hunting in violation of any regulation may result in fines, seizure of property, and the loss of hunting privileges.
• Firearms possession in all federal buildings• Practice or target shooting• The distribution of bait and/or hunting over bait• The use or possession of toxic shot• Building structures, including blinds and stands• Cutting or destruction of vegetation on the refuge• Shooting outside of an assigned blind site is prohibited except to kill crippled waterfowl• Dog training• The use or possession of alcoholic beverages or controlled substances
The South Waterfowl Area on Kelly Island is open for waterfowl and coot hunting during duck season on Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays, and Saturdays. Seventeen (17) blinds are provided and parties may have a maximum of 3 individuals. A boat is necessary to reach all blinds. Permits are issued at the Little Creek Management Area check station by lottery 2 hours before legal shooting time. The fee is $5.00 per hunter, charged in advance of permit issuance. Hunters arriving after 7:00 AM will be issued permits on a first-come, first-serve basis until 1:00 PM at the check station. The permit return box is located next to the Port Mahon boat ramp.• Hunters must leave the area before 1 hour after sunset each hunting day• Blind site 25 has no blind and is marked in the field by a blind stake. The party for blind site 25 must hunt within 200 Yards of the blind stake on Kelly Island
Two waterfowl hunts limited to young hunters accompanied by a guardian will be conducted on the South Waterfowl Area on October 5 and February 8. The refuge will follow the criteria established by the State of Delaware for hunter/guardian ages, safety qualifications, etc. Free permits are issued at the Little Creek Management Area check station. Any permits left after the lottery will be issued at the check station until 1:00 PM. South Waterfowl Area specific regulations apply to the youth hunt.
The West Waterfowl Area is open to duck, Canada and snow goose hunting. This hunt takes place during the Delaware Canada goose season on days when the area is opened by the Refuge Manager. Twelve (12) blinds are provided and parties may have a maximum of 4 individuals. Two (2) of these blinds are available for parties with at least 1 permanently disabled hunter.Permits are issued at refuge headquarters, at a morning drawing, 1 ½ hours before legal shooting time. The fee is $5.00 per hunter, charged in advance of permit issuance. Hunters arriving after the lottery will be issued permits on a first-come, first-serve basis until 9:00 AM. The permit return boxes are located at the entrances to the Fischer tract and regular area. A lottery for the accessible blinds will be held on the business day prior to each hunt day. To obtain an accessible blind, eligible hunters must ask to be entered into the lottery by 11:00 AM on the lottery day, for a drawing at 11:30 AM. Refuge staff will contact selected hunters by phone. The selected disabled hunter must claim the stand by the drawing time of the hunt or they forfeit their blind. • All hunting must stop at 12 noon. All hunters must be out of the area by 1:00 PM• The use of reciprocal licenses is not allowed • Driving on fields is allowed only when it is necessary to move a disabled hunter to and from an accessible blind• Parking on route 9 is not recommended
Follow Us Online
Back section closed all day Oct. 10, 12, 14, 2016 and Nov. 11, 12, 16, 2016 and Dec. 12 & 15, 2016 and Jan. 20, 2017.
Front section closed all day Nov. 14 & 18, 2016 and Dec. 14, 2016.