About the District

About the District_512x219

The Benton Lake Wetland Management District is managed as part of the Benton Lake National Wildlife Refuge Complex. The District was established in 1975.  It covers 10 counties (Cascade, Chouteau, Glacier, Hill, Lewis & Clark, Liberty, Pondera, Powell, Teton, and Toole) and includes 23 waterfowl production areas, 3 conservation areas, and 4 distinct easement programs.  The District also includes conservation easement programs in Missoula and Lake counties.

  • Waterfowl Production Areas


    The Benton Lake Wetland Management District manages 23 waterfowl production areas totaling over 16,000 acres. WPAs are owned in fee-title and managed as units of the National Wildlife Refuge System. 

    Learn More
  • Conservation Areas


    The FWS has designated three Conservation Areas within the Benton Lake Wetland Management District: the Blackfoot Valley Conservation Area, the Rocky Mountain Front Conservation Area, and the Swan Valley Conservation Area.

    Learn More