About the Refuge

Arrowwood National Wildlife Refuge is part of a complex that includes three fee-title refuges, six easement refuges and three Wetland Management Districts in nine counties of East Central North Dakota.

This refuge is managed as part of the Arrowwood NWR Complex. A National Wildlife Refuge Complex is an administrative grouping of two or more refuges, wetland management districts or other refuge conservation areas that are primarily managed from a central office location. Refuges are grouped into a complex structure because they occur in a similar ecological region, such as a watershed or specific habitat type, and have a related purpose and management needs. Typically, a project leader or complex manager oversees the general management of all refuges within the complex and refuge managers are responsible for operations at specific refuges or wetland management districts. Supporting staff, composed of administrative, law enforcement, refuge manager, biological, and fire, are centrally located and support all stations within the complex. The Arrowwood NWR Complex includes Arrowwood Wetland Management District (WMD), Valley City WMD, Chase Lake Prairie Project/WMD, Arrowwood and Chase Lake NWR’s. The entire Complex includes approximately 75,000 acres of U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Service) fee-title lands in a nine county area of east central North Dakota.