Pacific Island Refuges
Pacific Region

Welcome to the Pacific Island Refuges

The Hawaiian and Pacific Island National Wildlife Refuge Complex office, located in Honolulu, Hawai‘i, provides administrative guidance and oversight for 22 refuges. Some of these refuges were set aside primarily to benefit Hawai‘i's endangered waterbirds, while others provide habitat for Hawai‘i's rare and unique forest bird species, as well as threatened and endangered plants, and still others protect a coastal home for migratory seabirds.

The main Hawaiian Islands are home to 9 refuges located on Kaua‘i, Maui, O‘ahu, Moloka‘i, and the Island of Hawai‘i. The Pacific Reef refuges are the most widespread collection of coral reef and seabird/shorebird protected areas on the planet under a single country’s jurisdiction. They include Baker Island, Jarvis Island, Howland Island, Kingman Reef, Johnston Atoll, Palmyra Atoll, Wake Atoll, Mariana Trench, Mariana Arc of Fire, and Rose Atoll.

This Complex also manages Rose Atoll Marine National Monument, Marianas Trench Marine National Monument, including the Mariana Trench NWR and the Mariana Arc of Fire NWR, Pacific Remote Islands Marine National Monument, and co-manages the Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument along with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and the State of Hawai‘i. Midway Atoll NWR and Hawaiian Islands NWR are part of the Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument.

Click here to view a map of the Pacific Islands Refuges and the Pacific Islands Marine National Monuments

Refuges in the Pacific Islands

Marine National Monuments in the Pacific Islands

Search by Island

Last updated: March 24, 2011