National Wildlife Refuge System
Pacific Region

Pacific Region Refuges

Pacific Region National Monuments

Find a Refuge

Just type the first few letters of the refuge name and select "search." Or select a state and view all its refuges.

Looking south from Long Island Photo Courtesy of Bea Harrison

The Pacific Region contains 67 National Wildlife Refuges located in Hawaii and other Pacific Islands, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington. They encompass wetlands, estuaries, grasslands, nesting seabird colonies, forests, remote atolls with extensive coral reef ecosystems, high mountain deserts and all of the variations in between.

The National Wildlife Refuge System is one of America’s greatest conservation success stories. Wildlife Refuges have helped save many species from extinction and have protected a myriad of other wild species including fish, migratory birds, and many other plants and animals and the habitats that support them.

National Wildlife Refuges are far more than havens for wild plants and animals. Visitors are welcome to most wildlife refuges, where they are encouraged to take part in one or more outdoor pursuits. When found to be compatible with the purposes for which the refuge is created, wildlife observation, photography, hunting, fishing, interpretation and environmental education are designated by law as priority activities offered by the National Wildlife Refuge System.

Last updated: May 21, 2014