News Release

April 22, 2013

Kīlauea Point Lighthouse Re-dedication Ceremony Honors Senator Daniel K. Inouye

Media Contacts:
Megan Nagel, 503-705-6877

Kīlauea, HI – The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is rededicating the Kīlauea Point Lighthouse in honor of the late Senator Daniel K. Inouye in a ceremony on Saturday, May 4, 2013. The lighthouse is on Kīlauea Point National Wildlife Refuge on the island of Kaua‘i in Hawai‘i.  The rededication of the lighthouse will take place during a Saturday, May 4, 2013 ceremony to honor the late Senator Inouye, who was an important part of the lighthouse’s restoration and champion for the Kīlauea Point NWR.
On April 4, 2013, the Kīlauea Point Lighthouse’s name was officially changed in the National Register of Historical Places to the Daniel K. Inouye Kīlauea Point Lighthouse.
“Senator Inouye’s legacy as an American hero is distinguished – from serving our country on the battlefield to representing the state of Hawai‘i for over 40 years,” said Robyn Thorson, Director of the Pacific Region of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. “He was also a hero for conservation, especially at the Kīlauea Point National Wildlife Refuge and Lighthouse.”
Kīlauea Point Lighthouse has a unique and important place in Hawaiian history and the local community of Kīlauea. It was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979. A beacon for 100 years, this centennial the refuge and local community celebrate the Daniel K. Inouye Kīlauea Point Lighthouse as a beacon for future generations. Kīlauea Point National Wildlife Refuge staff, the Kīlauea Point Natural History Association, the Hawai‘i Tourism Authority, and the community of Kīlauea have come together to celebrate the centennial with a series of events Wednesday, May 1 through Sunday, May 5, 2013.
Refuge staff and a dedicated group of partners, especially the refuge’s friends group - the Kīlauea Point Natural History Association, have worked to restore the lighthouse. Thanks to the restoration effort, visitors to Kīlauea Point NWR will be able to tour the lighthouse for the first time in many years during the centennial events.
With over 500,000 visitors annually, the Kīlauea Point NWR is the most visited refuge in the Pacific Region and the fourth most visited in the National Wildlife Refuge System. Kīlauea Point National Wildlife Refuge is part of the Kaua‘i National Wildlife Refuge Complex. This management area consists of three refuges - Kīlauea Point NWR, Hanalei NWR and Hulī‘ia NWR.
To learn more about the entire week of centennial celebration events that will be held in Kīlauea and at the Kīlauea Point NWR, please visit:
To learn more about the refuge, please visit:īlaueapoint/
The Pacific Region includes the States of Hawai‘i, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington and Pacific island Territories and U.S. affiliated States. This includes the Territories of American Samoa, Guam and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands; and the Freely Associated States of the Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau under the Compacts of Free Association.