Skip Navigation

About the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

Graphic representing the Pacific Region showing the outlines of Idaho, Washington, Oregon and Hawaii with silhouettes of wildlife in the foreground

The mission of the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service is working with others to conserve, protect, and enhance fish, wildlife, and plants and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American people.

The Pacific Region

Image of a Fender's Blue Butterfly

From the arid steppe habitat of Idaho to the Cascade Mountains Oregon and Washington to tropical forests and coral reefs in the Pacific, the Pacific Region of the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service is a place of incredible ecological diversity.

Pacific Region habitats support over 400 threatened and endangered species, many unique and endemic plant and animal communities, and a variety of land-uses.

The region manages (or co-manages) nearly 270 million acres of land, water, coral reefs and ocean floor on 68 National Wildlife Refuges and five national monuments. We coodinate state-by-state through 11 ecological services field offices. Our contribution to fish science and production can be seen though eight fisheries stations, a research lab, 15 National Fish Hatcheries, plus an additional 26 state and tribal hatcheries that we help fund and/or administer. The Pacific Region is also home to the world's only wildlife forensics laboratory.

The people of the different landscapes throughout the Region perceive, value, and manage their natural resources in ways unique to their respective regions and cultures. Our work is therefore accomplished by working with a diverse coalition of conservation partners - agricultural and natural resource dependent communities, rural and urban landowners, Native American tribal governments and indigenous island communities, watershed councils, coral reef advisory groups, universities, land trusts, state and federal agencies, and many others.

Learn more by visiting the Pacific Region website
Return to main navigation