Skip Navigation

Threatened and Endangered Species

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, which is part of the Department of the Interior, and the National Marine Fisheries Service, which is part of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) in the Department of Commerce, share responsibility for administration of the Endangered Species Act (ESA).

Most Endangered Species program activities within the Pacific Region are handled by our Fish and Wildlife field offices.  Please select an office below for state specific information. On this regional web site, you will find a range of general information, compilations for wide-ranging species that span several field offices, and other information.

Species Information

In addition to the information available on this site, you can also explore the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s national website, which contains an ESA regulatory profile for all threatened and endangered species.  A search can be performed using common names or scientific names. 

Background on the Endangered Species Act:
Contents of the Endangered Species Act of 1973




Return to main navigation