Skip Navigation

Critical Habitat

What is Critical Habitat?

Under the Endangered Species Act, critical habitat identifies geographic areas that contain features essential for the conservation of a listed species. Critical habitat designations provide extra regulatory protection that may require special management considerations and the habitats are then prioritized for recovery actions.

The designation of critical habitat does not affect land ownership or establish a refuge, wilderness, reserve, preserve or other conservation area. It does not allow government or public access to non-federal lands.
A critical habitat designation does not impose restrictions on non-federal lands unless federal funds, permits or activities are involved. However, designating critical habitat on federal or non-federal lands informs landowners and the public of the specific areas that are important to the recovery of the species.

What is Critical Habitat? (pdf)

          • Final Bull Trout Critical Habitat Designation (September 30, 2010)
          • Proposed Bull Trout Critical Habitat Designation (January 13, 2010)
          • Previous Critical Habitat Proposals and Rules (2002-2005)

Final Critical Habitat Designation – Unit Maps

          • Critical Habitat Units – Index Map (Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Nevada)

          • Final Critical Habitat GIS Data

          • Final Critical Habitat KML Data for use with Google Earth

          • Comparison Map:Final vs. Proposed Critical Habitat Designation


Last Updated: September 3, 2014
Return to main navigation