Skip Navigation

National Hispanic Heritage Month

Hispanic Heritage Month begins on September 15 and continues through October 14. The anniversary of independence for five Latin American countries—Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua fall during this period. In addition, Mexico declared its independence on September 16, and Chile on September 18.

The term Hispanic, as defined by the U.S. Census Bureau, refers to Spanish-speaking peoples in the United States of any race. On the 2000 Census form, people of Spanish/Hispanic/Latino origin could identify themselves as Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, or "other Spanish/Hispanic/Latino". More than 35 million people identified themselves as Hispanic or Latino in the 2000 Census.


< Back to Special Emphasis Programs Main Page

Last Updated: July 26, 2016
Return to main navigation