Compatibility Determination Open for Public Review

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is soliciting public comments for a Compatibility Determination for prescribed haying for management purposes on National Wildlife Refuges and Waterfowl Production Areas throughout northwestern North Dakota.


The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is soliciting public comments for a Compatibility Determination for prescribed haying for management purposes on National Wildlife Refuges and Waterfowl Production Areas (Fee Title Lands) throughout the Northwest North Dakota Refuge Complex. Follow this link to download a copy of the draft compatibility determination.

Prescribed haying is proposed to be used as a habitat management tool for maintaining vegetative health (plant species composition and density) on the upland habitats within the Refuges and Waterfowl Production Areas (WPAs). The use of haying will remove and/or reduce standing vegetation and vegetative litter, suppress woody vegetation and exotic invasive weeds, and open vegetative stands to sunlight and moisture to encourage native or planted (desirable) plants to grow. The use will not detract from or materially interfere with the refuge purposes or the mission of the National Wildlife Refuge System. Prior to issuing a permit, Refuge Managers and the Project Leader will work through the Cooperative Agriculture Agreement (CAA) process in the selection of cooperators.

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service will be accepting written comments from September 14 through September 28, 2021 Please submit written comments to one of the following based on the National Wildlife Refuge or Wetland Management District.

J Clark Salyer NWR Refuge Manager, Gary Williams, 681 Salyer Road, Upham, ND 58789 or gary_williams@fws.gov

J Clark Salyer WMD Refuge Manager, John Takala, 681 Salyer Road, Upham, ND 58789 or john_takala@fws.gov

Des Lacs NWR Refuge Manager, Chad Zorn, 42000 520th Street NW, Kenmare, ND 58746 or chad_zorn@fws.gov

Crosby WMD Refuge Manager, Scott Williams, 10100 Highway 42 NW, Crosby, ND 58730 or scott_a_williams@fws.gov

Upper Souris NWR Refuge Manager, Tom Pabian, 17705 212th Avenue NW, Foxholm, ND 58718 or tom_pabian@fws.gov

Lostwood NWR & WMD Refuge Manager, Kory Richardson, 8315 Hwy 8, Kenmare, ND 58746 or kory_richardson@fws.gov