Mariana Trench Monument Advisory Council

MTMAC meeting.jpg

Presidential Proclamation 8335 required the establishment of a Monument Advisory Council to provide advice and recommendations on the development of the Monument Management Plan. At a minimum, the Council is to include three officials of the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands (CNMI) government and one representative each from the Department of Defense and the U.S. Coast Guard. 

Members of the Advisory Council are appointed for 3-year terms by the Secretaries of Commerce and Interior after considering nominations from the Governor of the CNMI, the Secretary of Defense and the Secretary of Homeland Security. The U.S. Coast Guard Sector Guam Response Department Head has been delegated responsibility for nominating a USCG representative to serve on the Advisory Council. The U.S. Pacific Command Commander has been delegated responsibility for nominating an Advisory Council member representing the United States armed forces. The Marianas Trench Monument Advisory Council (MTMAC) adopted by-laws to govern its activities on September 12, 2013.





The MTMAC voted Mr. Benigno M. Sablan (Special Advisor to CNMI Governor Inos) as its chairman. Mr. Sablan, Mr. Arnold I. Palacios (Secretary of the CNMI Department of Land and Natural Resources) and Mr. Frank Rabauliman (Director of the CNMI Division of Environmental Quality) make up the CNMI’s representatives on the council. LCDR Morgan Roper is the USCG representative and Mr. Roy Tsutsui is the Department of Defense representative. 

For more information on the Advisory Council meetings, please see the minutes here.

  1.  Initial Business Meeting Feb 2012
  2.  Inaugural Meeting June 2012
  3.  September 2012 Meeting Minutes
  4.  December 2012 Meeting Minutes
  5.  March 2013 Meeting Minutes
  6.  March 2013 - Follow-on Meeting Minutes
  7.  September 2013 Meeting Minutes