New York Field Office
Northeast Region

Listing & Classification

Before a plant or animal species can receive the protection provided by the Endangered Species Act (ESA), it must first be added to the Federal lists of threatened and endangered wildlife and plants. The List of Endangered and Threatened Wildlife (50 CFR 17.11) and the List of Endangered and Threatened Plants (50 CFR 17.12) contain the names of all species of mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fishes, insects, plants, and other creatures that have been determined by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Service) and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration-Fisheries (NOAA-Fisheries) (for most marine life) to be in the greatest need of Federal protection. For more information on listing, please see our National Listing Page.


What is a Candidate species?

Candidate species are plants and animals for which the Service has sufficient information on their biological status and threats to propose them as endangered or threatened under the ESA, but for which development of a proposed listing regulation is precluded by other higher priority listing activities

Candidate species do not receive protection under the ESA, but the Service works with Federal and non-Federal partners to conserve these species. Candidate conservation agreements may be initiated for these species with the goal of eliminating the current threats and ultimately preventing the need for listing. More information on candidate conservation.

What is a Proposed Species?

Proposed species are any species of fish, wildlife, or plants that is proposed in the Federal Register to be listed under section 4 of the ESA. 

Candidate Species in New York State - There are no current candidate species under Service jurisdiction known to occur in New York.

Critical Habitat - The Service also designates critical habitat for many listed species through our listing program.

Critical Habitat within New York State - Within New York State, the Service has designated critical habitat for the Great Lakes population of piping plovers.

Eastern massasauga rattlesnake
Eastern massasauga rattlesnake (Sistrurus catenatus) Photo by Dick Dickinson.

Additional information on Listed, Proposed, Candidate species in New York.

For more information on the Service's Endangered Species Program, go to



FWS Endangered Species Home PageFWS Endangered Species Northeast Region

What's New in Endangered Species?


Listing & Classification


Long Island Recovery Efforts

Project Reviews

Species in New York State



Last updated: September 29, 2016
All images by FWS unless otherwise noted.