Endangered Species
Mountain-Prairie Region

NCTC Makes Scarce Bull Trout Photos Available – No Bull!

The Fish and Wildlife Service has revised the 2005 critical habitat designation for bull trout, a threatened species protected under the Endangered Species Act.  The range of the bull trout includes Montana, Idaho, Oregon, Washington, and Nevada.

In Montana, the Service designated as critical habitat approximately 3,056 stream miles and approximately 221,471 acres of lakes or reservoirs in Deer Lodge, Flathead, Glacier, Granite, Lake, Lewis and Clark, Lincoln, Mineral, Missoula, Powell, Ravalli, and Sanders Counties. 

Under the Endangered Species Act, critical habitat is defined as a specific geographic area that is essential for the conservation of a threatened or endangered species and that may require special management considerations or protection. A critical habitat designation does not affect land ownership or set up a preserve or refuge and only applies to situations where federal funding, permitting, or land is involved.

For more information regarding the bull trout critical habitat designation
Press Release: October 12, 2010 U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Designates Critical Habitat Releases Economic Analysis for Bull Trout
Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Nevada Maps

What the Critical Habitat Designation Means to Montana Landowners and Recreationalists
Montana Critical Habitat Maps

For detailed information about the bull trout draft recovery plan and critical habitat designation, please visit http://species.fws.gov/bulltrout


More information can be found through the Service's ECOS webpage

Last updated: February 28, 2014