Division of Realty
Mountain-Prairie Region
Overview of the Realty Division
in the Mountain-Prairie Region

Welcome to the U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Service), Mountain-Prairie Region, Realty Home Page. The Realty Division supports the acquisition and management of Service lands. Much of this land is acquired in support of the more than 92-million-acre National Wildlife Refuge System. The lands are acquired using the Land and Water Conservation Fund and the Migratory Bird Conservation Fund, also known as Duck Stamp dollars. 
The eight-state Region is comprised of Colorado, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming. Our primary purpose and goal is to provide specialized real estate service to all Service personnel and programs. Employees staff the Regional Office and Wetland Acquisition Offices in Great Falls and Lewistown, Montana; Bismarck and Minot, North Dakota; and, Columbia and Huron, South Dakota.

The staff in the Realty Division acquired fee and easement interest on nearly 60,000 acres of wildlife habitat in the 8-state Region during 2009. Habitats varied from prairie ecosystems to bottom land hardwoods to montane forest, benefiting a variety of fish and wildlife resources.

We continue to go through a time of change in organization, funding, and advocacy for acquisition. Yet, our mission to serve the Agency and the American people has not changed. We will continue to keep our focus and evaluate our accomplishments based upon that mission.

We are committed to serve all divisions of the Service and our non-government partners in this effort. For more information on services that the Realty Division can provide please contact:

Sue Oliveira
Chief, Division of Realty
National Wildlife Refuge System
P.O. Box 25486, DFC
Denver, CO 80225
Telephone: 303-236-8130
Fax: 303-236-4712


Realty Staff 2010

Last updated: April 1, 2010