South Dakota Ecological Services
Mountain-Prairie Region
Graphic button showing the 8 state mountain prairie region

Engangered Species


In 1973, Congress passed a law called the Endangered Species Act. The purpose of this law is:

  • to identify animals and plants that are in danger of extinction, and
  • to protect and recover those animals and plants and their habitats.

The Fish and Wildlife Service keeps a list of animals and plants that are protected by the Endangered Species Act (ESA). An endangered species is in danger of extinction throughout all or most of its range. A threatened species is one that could become endangered in the near future.

The Service reviews Federal projects that may affect Federally listed species. From 1987-1997, the Service conducted more than 6000 informal and 23 formal consultations in South Dakota under Section 7 of the ESA. All projects were allowed to proceed. The 23 projects with potential impacts were modified to allow the project to move forward and not jeopardize the listed species.

The Service's endangered species activities are conducted in close cooperation with the South Dakota Department of Game, Fish, and Parks who has been given authority and funding under Section 6 of the ESA to conduct recovery programs for Federally listed species.


The mission of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is working with Others to conserve, protect, and enhance fish, wildlife, plants and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American People.
Last modified: April 10, 2017
All Images Credit to and Courtesy of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Unless Specified Otherwise.
flickr youtube