
Montana Hunting Regulations

GRIZZLY BEAR2016

Apply for General Licenses, Special Licenses, and SuperTags Online: fwp.mt.gov

Grizzly bear. Ursus arctos horribilis. Photo by Donald M. Jones

20XX



2    Turn In Poachers - Enough is Enough!  Call:  1-800-TIP-MONT (1-800-847-6668)

DRAFT

Regulations Adopted by F&W Commission
These regulations are adopted under the authority granted to the 
Fish & Wildlife Commission (F&W Commission) in MCA 87‑1‑301 
and are valid March 1, 2016, through February 28, 2017 These 
regulations were adopted by the F&W Commission on February 
11, 2016. The F&W Commission reserves the authority to amend 
the seasons, limits and regulations herein if deemed necessary 
for wildlife management purposes. M. Jeff Hagener, Director.
State and Federal laws, Title VI of Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 
504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title II of the Americans 
with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, 
and Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, prohibit 
discrimination on the basis of race, color, sex, age, religion, 
national origin, or disability. Anyone believing he or she has been 
discriminated against (as described above) in any Fish, Wildlife & 
Parks (FWP) program, activity, or facility may write to FWP Human 
Resources Office, 1420 East Sixth Avenue, PO Box 200701, 
Helena, MT 59620-0701 or the office of Equal Opportunity, U.S. 
Department of the Interior, Washington, D.C. 20240.

License Chart

License Cost Stipulations
Resident Non- 

resident

Base Hunting $10 $15 Required prerequisite for 
hunting.

Conservation $8 $10 Required prerequisite.

Grizzly Bear $150 $1000

Grizzly Bear 
Trophy 
License

$50 $50

If a holder of a valid special grizzly 
bear license who is 12 years of 
age or older kills a grizzly bear, the 
person shall purchase a trophy 
license for a fee of $50 within 
10 days after the date of the kill. 
The trophy license authorizes the 
holder to possess and transport 
the trophy.

Bow and 
Arrow 
(Archery)

$10 $10

A bow and arrow license, plus the 
proper hunting license is required 
during grizzly bear Archery Only 
Season or to archery hunt grizzly 
bear in an Arch-Equip only area 
or hunting district. 

Bear 
Identification 
Test 
Certificate 
Required

Free Free

A hunter must take and pass a 
“bear identification test” before 
purchasing a grizzly bear hunting 
license. A hunter must present a 
certificate of completion issued 
by FWP at the time of purchase. 
The test is available online at:

http://fwp.mt.gov/education/hunter/bearID/

What’s New & Reminders
•	See license chart for grizzly bear license purchase 

stipulations.
•	Laws and Regulations are on pages 4-10.
Youth Hunter:
•	An Apprentice Hunter is a resident or nonresident, 10-17 

years of age, certified at an FWP office.  This allows the 
youth to hunt some species, while accompanied by a mentor, 
without first completing a hunter education course.  The 
apprentice hunter may not apply for a bighorn sheep license 
or a hunting license or permit with a limited quota. Other 
restrictions apply. See our website for details at:
 http://fwp.mt.gov/hunting/licenses/all/apprenticeHunter/default.html

•	A resident or nonresident youth 12 years of age or older 
may hunt any game species for which their license is valid.  
Those who will reach 12 years of age by January 16, 2017 
may hunt any game species, for which their license is valid, 
after August 15 of the 2016 license year.  Proof of hunter 
education must be presented at the time of purchase.

Licensing – General
•	Grizzly bear licenses are available only through a limited 

drawing.  Applications for the drawing must be received by 
5:00 PM on XXX X.

•	Sportspersons are limited to a “once-in-a-lifetime” harvest of 
a grizzly bear.

•	An applicant who receives a grizzly bear license is not eligible 
to apply for or receive another license for grizzly bear for the 
following 7 years (see reference chart):

7 Year Wait
Year License

Drawn
Year May
Reapply

2010 2018
2011 2019
2012 2020
2013 2021
2014 2022
2015 2023
2016 2024

•	Licenses will be issued after completion of the required hunt 
orientation class.

•	License holders may legally take one adult grizzly bear subject 
to all specifications on the license issued.

•	 If a holder of a valid special grizzly bear license who is 12 years 
of age or older kills a grizzly bear, the person shall purchase 
a trophy license for a fee of $50 within 2 days after the date 
of the kill (MCA 87-2701). The trophy license authorizes the 
holder to possess and transport the trophy.

•	The licenses listed in the license chart are available at FWP 
offices, FWP website at http://fwp.mt.gov, and FWP license 
providers.

•	Replacements of lost, stolen or destroyed licenses may be 
purchased at FWP offices and FWP License Providers. A 
second duplicate license for the same species within a two-
year period may only be purchased at an FWP office.  A person 
cannot replace a license requiring a carcass tag a third time 
for the same species within a two-year period. A fee of $5 per 
license will be charged for each duplicate license. 
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It is unlawful to:
•	Swear or affirm to a false statement in order to obtain a duplicate 

license.
•	Possess an original as well as a duplicate license(s). If the 

original is found, it must be returned to FWP at any regional 
office.

•	Allow a license of any type to be used by another person.
•	Montana is a member of the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact. 

Under the compact, member states recognize suspensions of 
hunting, fishing or trapping privileges. It is illegal for a violator 
whose privilege to hunt, fish or trap is suspended to obtain or 
attempt to obtain a license, tag or permit in a member state. 
For more information, call 406‑444‑2452.

Hunter Education for Firearm and Archery
•	 If you were born after January 1, 1985, you are required to show 

proof of completing a Montana hunter safety and education 
course (or an approved hunter safety course from any other 
state or province) prior to applying for or purchasing a hunting 
license, whether the hunting license is for the rifle or archery 
season. 

•	Montana law requires members of the armed forces and their 
dependents stationed in Montana to present a Montana hunter 
education certificate or similar certificate from any state or 
province when purchasing any Montana hunting license.

•	Duplicates – Montana certificates of completion for the Montana 
hunter education and/or bowhunter education courses may be 
obtained from FWP’s website at:

 http://fwp.mt.gov/education/hunter.
Bowhunter Education Requirements 
•	To purchase a Montana bow and arrow license, a hunter must:

–– Provide a certificate of completing the National Bowhunter 
Education Foundation course, or

–– Provide any prior year’s bowhunting/archery stamp, tag, 
permit, or license from any state or province. If you can no 
longer produce this license, for a $5 fee you may sign an 
affidavit stating that you previously held such a license. 
The affidavit is available at all FWP License Providers. The 
affidavit entitles you to purchase a current year’s Montana 
bow and arrow license. 

State School Trust Lands Recreational Use License
•	The Conservation License allows hunters, anglers and trappers 

access to all legally accessible state school trust lands (contact 
DNRC at 406-444-2074). 

Licensing – Residency
It is illegal to swear to or to affirm a false statement in order to 
obtain an original or duplicate resident hunting and/or fishing 
license OR to assist an unqualified applicant in obtaining a 
resident license.
Armed Forces 
•	A member of the regular armed forces of the United States, a 

member’s dependent who resides in the member’s Montana 
household, or a member of the armed forces of a foreign 
government attached to the regular armed forces of the United 
States is considered a resident for Montana hunting, fishing 
and trapping licenses if:
–– The member was a resident of Montana under the 
provisions listed under residency at the time the member 
entered the armed forces and continues to meet these 
residency criteria; or

–– The member is currently stationed in and assigned to 
active duty in Montana, has resided in Montana for a least 
30 days, and presents official assignment orders and a 
certificate verifying successful completion of an approved 
hunter safety course from any state or province. 

Nonresident 
•	Nonresident unmarried minors, at least 12 but not older than 

17 years of age, can hunt in Montana as a resident if the 
minor’s parents, legal guardian, or parent with joint custody, 
sole custody, or visitation rights is a legal resident of Montana.

Resident
•	To be a legal Montana resident and eligible to purchase any 

Montana resident fishing, hunting, and trapping license, as per 
MCA 87-2-102, you must:
–– have been physically living in Montana for at least 180 
consecutive days immediately prior to purchasing a resident 
license;

–– register your vehicle(s) in Montana;
–– be registered to vote in Montana if you’re registered to vote 
at all;

–– not possess current (or have applied for any) resident 
hunting, fishing, or trapping privileges in another state or 
country;

–– file Montana state income tax returns as a resident, if you 
are required to file.

•	To purchase an annual resident conservation license you will 
be required to show a valid Montana Driver’s License (MDL), 
a valid Montana Identification Card (MIC) or a valid Tribal 
Identification Card. 

•	 If your MDL or MIC has been issued for less than six months, 
you may be required to show additional proof of residency. An 
out-of-state driver’s license is NOT an acceptable form of ID 
for resident license purchases. Contact your local FWP office 
for specifics.

•	Once you have established your residency, you must continue 
to meet all these requirements and physically reside in Montana 
as your principal or primary place of abode for not less than 
120 days per year (days need not be consecutive). 

•	A person is NOT considered a resident for the purposes of this 
section if the person:
–– claims residence in any other state or country for any 
purpose; or 

–– is an absentee property owner paying property tax on 
property in Montana.

Hunter with a Disability

If you or someone you 
know has a disability and/
or is aging, and is in need of 
assistive technology (AT) or 
adaptive equipment to help 
you participate in outdoor 
recreation, please contact:

MonTech at the University of Montana Rural Institute
52 Corbin Hall
Missoula, MT  59803
(406) 243-5751
http://montech.ruralinstitute.utm.edu/
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Mandatory Reporting Requirements
•	Hunters must personally report their grizzly bear kill within 12 
hours by calling the grizzly bear reporting line at 1-877-FWP-
WILD (1-877-397-9453) or 406-444-0356.  Even hunters in 
remote backcountry situations must report their kill within 12 hours.

•	Sportspersons harvesting a grizzly bear must accurately record 
the location of kill with a GPS unit or by being able to pinpoint 
on a high-quality map the exact location. If required by the 
department the sportsperson must physically return to the kill 
site for inspection.

•	Inspection – Within 2 days of harvesting a grizzly bear, 
successful hunters are required to present the hide with 
evidence of sex attached and the skull to FWP in the FWP 
Region where the bear was taken. The hide and skull must be 
presented in a condition that allows full inspection and tooth 
collection (i.e. unfrozen) for the purpose of:
-- Registration of kill.
-- Verify evidence of sex.
-- Determining the reproductive status of female bears.
-- Removal of tooth for aging purposes.
-- Issuance and attachment of a hide tag and a skull tag.  The 
hide tag must thereafter remain attached to the hide until 
tanned.  The skull tag must thereafter remain on the skull.

-- Issuance of a $50 trophy license.

Grizzly Bear Specific Regulations
•	The grizzly bear season is based on a harvest quota system 
with the number of licenses available equal to that quota and 
issued through a random drawing.  Hunters may hunt in any 
Grizzly Bear Management Unit that is open until the season 
is closed in individual or in all Grizzly Bear Management Units 
as described below.
-- The grizzly bear season will close upon 24 hour notice, but 
no later than April 20 during the spring season and December 
15 during the fall season, in all Grizzly Bear Management 
Units (GBMUs) when the female quota is reached OR the 
total male quota is reached. 

-- The grizzly bear season will close upon 24 hour notice, 
but no later than April 20 during the spring season and 
December 15 during the fall season, in an individual Grizzly 
Bear Management Unit (GBMU) when the male subquota is 
reached for that particular GBMU. 

•	Sportspersons harvesting a grizzly bear must accurately record 
the location of kill with a GPS unit or by being able to pinpoint 
on a high-quality map the exact location. If required by the 
department the sportsperson must physically return to the kill 
site for inspection.

•	Female bears with young and individual young may not be 
harvested. Young are defined as two years old or younger.  
It is illegal to harvest/take any grizzly bear accompanied by 
another bear or bears.  This means any bear accompanied by 
cubs, young, yearling, two-year old or adult bears.

•	Sportsmen are limited to a “once-in-a-lifetime” harvest of a 
grizzly bear.

•	It is illegal to bait bears or to hunt bears with dogs.  No scents 
may be used to attract grizzly bears.

•	It is illegal to take a grizzly bear while it is in its den.
•	Grizzly bear quotas and subquotas may fill quickly.  Hunters 
are responsible to know the quota status before hunting.

•	The Fish & Wildlife Commission has authorized the department 
to initiate closure prior to reaching the female subquota when 
conditions or circumstances indicate the subquota may be 
reached within the 24-hour closure notice period.

GBMU Female 
Quota

Male 
Quota

Male 
subquota

300 Highland - Ruby CLOSED

301 Gravelly

TBD* TBD*

TBD*

302 Madison TBD*

303 Gallatin - Yellowstone TBD*

304 Yellowstone - Boulder TBD*

500 Beartooth Face TBD*

501 Stillwater - Bighorn CLOSED

* TBD*= To Be Determined

Grizzly Bear Management Unit Regulations
Grizzly Bear Management Quotas: TBD* Grizzly Bears 
including no more than TBD* females and TBD* males for 
all GBMUs combined. Individual GBMUs are established to 
distribute harvest. The total harvest from all GBMUs cannot 
exceed these harvest quotas. 

Grizzly Bear License.  Drawing only.  Apply by XXX X.
XXX-00: TBD* Licenses.  Valid in GBMUs 301, 302, 303, 

304, 500 and 501. Female quota = TBD*.  Male 
quota = TBD* (with male subquotas in each GBMU 
as presented in the table below). 

NOTE: Hunters may hunt in any Grizzly Bear Management 
Unit (GBMU) that is open until the season is closed in that 
individual GBMU or in all GBMUs. The grizzly bear season will 
close upon 24 hour notice, but no later than April 20 during the 
spring season and December 15 during the fall season, in all 
GBMUs when the female quota is reached or when the male 
quota is reached.  An individual GBMU will close when the male 
subquota is reached for that particular GBMU. see the chart 
below for male subquotas. For Quota Status call 1-800-385-
7826 or (406) 444-1989.

Mar 15 – Apr 20 – Either-sex Grizzly Bear.
Nov 10 – Dec 15 – Either-sex Grizzly Bear.

Weapons Restrictions
Weapons restrictions are in effect in some hunting districts. It is 
your responsibility to know that you are in a legal hunting area.
The following equipment restrictions apply to Weapons Restriction Areas:
Archery
•	See legal archery equipment in the  “Methods and Means of 

Hunting” section.
Crossbows
•	Legal in weapons restriction areas unless exception noted in 

specific hunting district regulations.
Muzzleloader
•	must not be capable of being loaded from the breech of the barrel;
•	may not be loaded with any pre-prepared paper or metallic 

cartridges;
•	must be charged with black powder, pyrodex, or an equivalent;
•	must be ignited by a percussion, flintlock, matchlock, or 

wheelock mechanism;
•	must be a minimum of .45 caliber;
•	may have no more than two barrels; and 
•	must only use plain lead projectiles (not sabots or similar 

projectiles).

Restricted Areas

Continued on page 6...
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Grizzly Bear Management Legal Descriptions
GBMU 300 Highland – Ruby: Beginning at the junction of Route 
509, the Centennial Valley Road, and  Interstate 15 near Monida, 
then north on said interstate to its junction with Interstate 90 near 
Rocker, then east on said interstate to Bozeman and the junction 
with State Route 84, then west on said route to its junction with U. 
S. Route 287 at Norris, then south on said route to its junction with 
State Route 287 at Ennis, then west on said state route to its junction 
with Route 357, the Ruby River Road, at Alder, then south on said 
route to its junction with the Blacktail-Centennial Road east of Lima 
Reservoir, then south on said road to its junction with the Route 509, 
the Centennial Valley Road, then west along said road to its junction 
with Interstate 15 near Monida, the point of the beginning.
GBMU 301 Gravelly: Beginning at the junction of Interstate 15 and 
Route 509, the Centennial Valley Road, near Monida, then, east 
along said road to its junction with the Blacktail-Centennial Road, 
then north along said road to its junction with the Ruby River Road 
east of Lima Reservoir, then north along said road to its junction with 
State Route 287 at Alder, then east along said route to its junction 
with U. S. Route 287 at Ennis, then south along said route to its 
junction with State Route 87, then south along said route to the 
Montana-Idaho border at Raynolds Pass, then west along said 
border to Monida Pass and its junction with Interstate 15, then north 
along said interstate to its junction with Route 509, the Centennial 
Valley Road, near Monida, the point of the beginning.
GBMU 302 Madison: Beginning at Raynolds Pass on the Montana-
Idaho border on State Route 87, then north along said route to its 
junction with U. S. Route 287, then north along said route to its 
junction with State Route 84 at Norris, then east along said route 
to its junction with U. S. Route 191 at Four Corners, then south 
along said route to its junction with the Yellowstone National Park 
boundary, then south along said boundary to its junction with the 
Montana-Idaho border, then west along said border to Raynolds 
Pass and State Route 87, the point of the beginning.  
GBMU 303 Gallatin - Yellowstone:  Beginning at the junction of 
State Route 84 and Interstate 90 at Bozeman, then east along said 
interstate to its junction with U. S. Route 89 at Livingston, then south 
along said route to the Yellowstone National Park boundary, then 
west along said boundary to its junction with U. S. Route 191, then 
north along said route to its Junction with State Route 84 at Four 
Corners, then east along said route to its junction with Interstate 90 
at Bozeman, the point of the beginning.
GBMU 304 Yellowstone - Boulder:  Beginning at the junction of 
U. S. Route 89 and Interstate 90 at Livingston, then east along said 
interstate to its junction with the Boulder River near Big Timber, then 
south along said river to where it crosses U. S. Forest Service Trail 32 
in T7S, R12E, SE¼ Sec 28 west of Monument Peak, then south along 
said trail to Boulder Pass where it becomes U. S. Forest Service Trail 
99, then south along said trail to its junction with Buffalo Creek in T8S, 
R12E, SE¼ Sec 5, then south along said creek to its junction with the 
Yellowstone National Park boundary, then west along said boundary 
to U. S. Route 89 at Gardiner, then north along said route to its junction 
with Interstate 90 at Livingston, the point of the beginning.

Creek Divide and the Sage Creek-Bacon Rind Divide to the Gallatin 
Madison Rivers Divide at Redstreak Peak, then southeasterly along 
said divide to the Yellowstone National Park boundary, then northerly 
along said boundary to the point of beginning.
Gardiner: CLOSED to all hunting. Beginning at the Junction of U.S. 
Hwy 89 and Little Trail Creek, then up Little Trail Creek to the posted 
line (approx. 1/2 mile above U.S. Hwy 89), then southeasterly along 
said line to the Travertine-Trail Creek Road, then easterly along 
said road to its intersection with the Gardiner-Jardine Road, then 
northeasterly along said road to Eagle Creek, then southerly down 
said creek to the YNP boundary, then westerly along said boundary 
to the intersection with Stevens Creek, then northeasterly in a straight 
line to the intersection with U.S. Hwy 89, then northwesterly along 
said highway to the junction of Little Trail Creek, the point of beginning.

Traditional Handgun
•	must not be capable of being shoulder mounted;
•	must have a barrel length of less than 10 ½ inches; and
•	must chamber only a straight wall cartridge, not originally 

developed for rifles.
Shotgun 
•	Must be a shouldered, breech-loaded or muzzle-loaded firearm 

with a smooth bore and/or rifled barrel and/or rifled choke device 
designed to fire shot or slugs.

Restricted Area Descriptions
Restricted area descriptions include closed and/or weapons 
restricted areas. It is your responsibility to know that you are in 
a legal hunting area.
Gallatin Valley Weapons Restriction Area: Beginning at the 
intersection of Cottonwood Road and Enders Road, continuing 
southeast from that intersection along Cottonwood Road, north to 
South 19th, then east on South 19th to Nash Road, then east on 
Nash Road to Sourdough Canyon Road, then south on Sourdough 
Canyon Road, to the national forest boundary, then east along said 
boundary to boundary of State Lands Sections 4, 3, 34, 35 and 1 
to Bear Canyon Road, then northerly on Bear Canyon Road to the 
Bear Canyon Interchange with Interstate 90, then northerly to Rocky 
Creek, northwesterly along Rocky Creek to L Street, then north on 
L Street to Story Mill Road, then north on Story Mill Road to Deer 
Creek Drive, northeast on Deer Creek Drive to Lookfar Way, north 
on Lookfar Way to Rolling Hills Drive, north on Rolling Hills Drive 
to Sypes Canyon Road, northwesterly on Sypes Canyon Road to 
Summer Cuttoff Road, then Saddle Mountain Road, then east on 
Saddle Mountain Road to Bostwick Road, then north along Bostwick 
Road to Baseline East Road, then west on Baseline East Road to 
Walker Road, then north on Walker Road to Penwell Bridge Road, 
then west on Penwell Bridge Road to Wes Davis Road, then north 
and west on Wes Davis Road to Hamilton Road, then west and 
north on Hamilton Road to Cactus Road, then west on Cactus 
Road to Highway 290, then south on Highway 290 to Weaver Road, 
then west on Weaver Road to Highway 10, then northwesterly on 
Highway 10 to Heeb Road, then south on Heeb Road to Amsterdam 
Road, east on Amsterdan Road, to Linney Road, south on Linney 
Road to Cameron Bridge Road, then east on Cameron Bridge Road 
to River Road, then south on River Road to Highway 84, then east on 
Highway 84 to Shedds Bridge, then south up western most channel 
of the Gallatin River to Gallatin Gateway Bridge, then east on Gallatin 
Gateway Road to US Highway 191, then south on US Highway 191 
to Cottonwood Road, to point of beginning.
NOTE Sourdough Exclusion Zone from Gallatin Valley Weapons 
Restriction Area: Beginning at the intersection of Nash and Sourdough 
Canyon Road, then south on Sourdough Canyon Road to the USFS 
boundary, then east, north and east along said boundary in Section 
8, then along said boundary in Section 8 to the intersection with State 
Lands in Section 9, then north along the section line of Sections 4 and 
5, then west along section line of Sections 5 and 32 to the intersection 
with Sourdough Road, then south on Sourdough Road, then west on 
Nash Road, the point of beginning.
Gallatin Special Management Area: Closed to all big game 
hunting except open to elk hunting by Special Permit Only and to wolf 
hunting. Those portions of Madison and Gallatin Counties lying within 
the following boundary description: Beginning at the intersection of 
US Highway 191 and the north boundary of Yellowstone National 
Park, then in a northerly direction along said boundary to USFS Trail 
57 at Dailey Pass, then in a northwesterly direction along said trail 
to the headwaters of the South Fork of Buffalo Horn, then down said 
creek to a posted line that goes along the south side of Cow Flats to 
its intersection with Buffalo Horn Creek, then down said creek to the 
Gallatin River, then up said river to Snow Flake Springs and the toe 
of Snowflake Ridge, then southerly along said ridge and the Sage 
Creek-Monument Creek Divide, then along Sage Creek-Snowslide 
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General Regulations
It is illegal to:
•	 “Party” hunt. Each hunter must shoot and tag his/her own animal. 
•	Loan or transfer a license to another person or use a license 

issued to another person.
•	Carry or have physical control over a valid and unused hunting 

license or permit issued to another person while in any location 
where the species to be hunted occurs. Exception: a person 
may carry or have control over a license or permit issued to 
that person’s spouse or any minor when the spouse or minor 
is hunting with that person. 

•	Alter a license or permit for any reason. 
•	Post, place signs or mark state or federal land other than that 

done by a state or federal land agency. 
•	 Interfere/hinder with the lawful taking of a game animal.

Antler/Horn/Skull Possession
Individuals may possess, transport, sell, or purchase naturally 
shed antlers, or the antlers with a skull or portion of a skull 
attached from a game animal that has died from natural causes 
and that has not been illegally killed. Carcasses and parts of 
elk, deer, antelope and moose killed in vehicular collisions may 
be taken and possessed but only with a Vehicle-Killed Wildlife 
Salvage Permit. No other game animals may be salvaged by 
this permit. It is illegal to possess a bighorn sheep head/horn 
picked up in the wild.
Check Stations
All hunters and anglers are required by law to stop as directed at 
all designated check stations on their way to and from hunting and 
fishing areas, even if they have no game or fish to be checked.

Furbearer Traps
•	 It is illegal to disturb traps or trapped animals.Traps and trapped 

animals are the property of the trap owner. 
•	Hunters may not shoot trapped animals.

Hunter Orange Requirement
•	Firearm Hunters – Any person hunting or accompanying a 

hunter as an outfitter or guide must wear a minimum of 400 
square inches of hunter orange (fluorescent) material above 
the waist, visible at all times.

•	Archery Hunters – There is no grizzly bear Archery Only 
Season. Bowhunters hunting for grizzly bear must always wear 
a minimum of 400 square inches of hunter orange (fluorescent) 
above the waist, visible at all times.

Hunting Hours
Authorized hunting hours for the taking of big game animals 
begin one‑half hour before sunrise and end one-half hour 
after sunset each day of the hunting season.  See official 
sunrise-sunset tables in these regulations.

Inspection of Wildlife
Wildlife taken must be shown to FWP enforcement for 
inspection when requested.

Kill Site Verification
As a condition of hunting in Montana, if requested to do so by 
an FWP warden, you are required to return to the kill site.

Limits and Seasons
•	A hunter may legally harvest/take one grizzly bear per lifetime. 
•	Female bears with young and individual young may not be 
harvested. Young are defined as two years old or younger.  
It is illegal to harvest/take any grizzly bear accompanied by 
another bear or bears.  This means any bear accompanied by 
cubs, young, yearling, two-year old or adult bears.

•	All grizzly Bear Management Units (GBMUs) listed shall be 
open to hunting of grizzly bear of either sex until either the 
female or male subquotas are met. 

Littering
A person convicted of littering while hunting, fishing, trapping 
or camping may lose his or her license and privileges to hunt, 
fish, trap, or camp within Montana for a period of one year.

Marked or Radio-Collared Animals 
It is legal to shoot game animals that have radio collars, neck 
bands, ear tags and/or other markers, but markers and radio 
collars must be returned to FWP.  Please report the killing 
of a marked animal to the local FWP Office. If the bear you 
harvest is marked with an ear tag or radio collar, contact 
FWP to confirm that enough time has passed since capture 
to ensure that the meat will not contain residue from drugs or 
medications that may have been administered.

Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV)
•	Examples of an OHV include but are not limited to: motorcycles, 

quadricycles (also known as 4-wheelers), dune buggies, 
amphibious vehicles, air cushion vehicles, and any other means 
of land transportation deriving motive power from any source 
other than muscle or wind. 

•	 In order to operate an OHV on public lands, the OHV must 
have a valid/current registration and display an OHV decal. 

•	Nonresidents must register their OHV in their home state or 
purchase a temporary Off-Highway Vehicle Use permit from 
Montana FWP. The permit is $27 and expires on December 
31 of the year issued.

•	OHV permits may be purchased from some FWP License Providers 
and some Vendors (such as a private OHV dealership), or online at: 
                   https://app.mt.gov/als/index/index.html

GBMU 500 Beartooth Face:  Beginning at the junction of Interstate 
90 and the Boulder River near Big Timber, then south along said 
river to where it crosses U. S. Forest Service Trail 32 in T7S, R12E, 
SE¼ Sec 28 west of Monument Peak, then south along said trail 
to Boulder Pass where it becomes U. S. Forest Service Trail 99, 
then south along said trail to its junction with Buffalo Creek in T8S, 
R12E, SE¼ Sec 5, then south along said creek to its junction with the 
Yellowstone National Park boundary, then east along said boundary 
to its junction with the Montana-Wyoming border near Silver Gate, 
then east along said boundary to State Route 72, then north along 
said route to its junction with Route 308 at Belfry, then west along 
said route to its junction with State Route 78 at Red Lodge, then 
west and north along said route to its junction with Route 420, the 
Stillwater River Road, at Absarokee, then west along said road to its 
junction with the Spring Creek Road, then north and west along said 
road to its intersection with the Stockade Road, then northwesterly 
along said road to its intersection with the Main Bridger Creek Road, 
then northeasterly along said road to its junction with Interstate 90, 
then west along said interstate to its junction with the Boulder River 
near Big Timber, the point of the beginning.
GBMU 501 Stillwater - Bighorn: Beginning at the junction of Interstate 
90 and U. S. Routes 212/310 at Laurel, then south along said routes 
to the Carbon County line, then south and east along said line to the 
Montana-Wyoming border, then west along said border to its junction 
with State Route 72, then north along said route to its junction with 
Route 308 at Belfry, then west along said route to its junction with 
State Route 78 at Red Lodge, then west and north along said 
route to its junction with Route 420, the Stillwater River Road, at 
Absarokee, then west along said road to its junction with the Spring 
Creek Road then north and west along said road to its intersection 
with the Stockade Road, then northwesterly along said road to its 
intersection with the Main Bridger Creek Road, then northeasterly 
along said road to its junction with Interstate 90, then east along said 
interstate to its junctions with U. S. Routes 212/310 at Laurel, the 
point of the beginning.
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Outfitters and Guides
It is illegal to hire an outfitter or guide not licensed by the 
Montana Department of Labor and Industry. For information 
call 406-841-2300.

Possession and Sale of Wildlife Parts
•	 It is illegal to sell or purchase any part of a grizzly bear except 

as allowed by the laws of Montana:
–– The sale or purchase of hides, heads or mounts of lawfully 
killed grizzly bear is legal.

–– The penalty for the illegal sale may be a fine up to $50,000 
and/or imprisonment in the state prison for a term of five years.

Predators and Nongame Hunting
Predators and nongame species are unprotected by federal 
and/or state law or regulation and can be hunted in Montana 
year-round without a license by both resident and nonresident 
hunters. A conservation license or a state school trust lands 
recreational use license is required to hunt predators and 
nongame species on state school trust lands. Permission 
must be obtained to hunt predators and nongame species on 
private land.
•	 Furbearers are protected game species that may only be taken 

by residents with a valid trapping license during prescribed open 
seasons. State classified furbearers include beaver, otter, muskrat, 
mink, marten, fisher, wolverine, bobcat, lynx, and swift fox.

•	Nongame species are defined as any wild animal not otherwise 
legally classified by statute or regulation in Montana. Examples 
include badger, raccoon, red fox, hares, rabbits, ground 
squirrels, marmots, tree squirrels, porcupines, and prairie dogs.

•	Predators are classified as coyote, weasel, (striped) skunk, 
and civet cat (spotted skunk). 

Recorded Animal Sounds
It is illegal to use any recorded or electrically amplified bird or 
animal calls or sounds or imitations of bird or animal calls or 
sounds to assist in the hunting, taking, killing or capturing of 
any wildlife except predatory animals as per Montana law.

Restitution for Illegally Taken Wildlife
Under Montana law, a person convicted, or who was 
charged and forfeited bond or bail, of illegally killing, taking, 
or possessing game animals shall reimburse the state. The 
law sets the amount of restitution for a trophy animal under 
Montana law as:

        Bighorn Sheep $30,000
Elk $8,000
Antlered Deer $8,000
Moose $6,000
Mountain Goat $6,000
Antelope $2,000
Grizzly Bear $8,000

•	The law specifically outlines minimum standards for a trophy 
under this regulation, but authorizes the F&W Commission to 
adopt more specific criteria.

•	For the purpose of assessing restitution for illegally taken 
trophy wildlife under Montana law, the following are considered 
“trophy” animals:
––Antelope: 

▪▪ With at least one horn greater than 14 inches in length, as 
measured along the outside curve from base to tip.

––Elk: 
▪▪ Must meet all three criteria: 

1) At least six points on one antler;
2) A main beam length on each antler of at least 43 
inches; and
3) An inside spread of at least 36 inches. 

	           OR

▪▪ Any elk with at least one six-point antler and having a 
gross/green Boone & Crockett score of 320 points or 
greater.

––Mule Deer:
▪▪ Must meet all three criteria:

1) At least four points on one antler (excluding brow 
tine),
2) A main beam length on each side of at least 21 
inches, and 
3) A greatest inside spread across the main beams of 
at least 20 inches. 

	           OR
▪▪ Any mule deer with at least one four-point antler and 

having a gross/green Boone & Crockett score of 160 
points or greater.

––White-tailed Deer:
▪▪ 	Must meet all three criteria: 

1) At least four points on one antler (excluding brow 
tine), 
2) A main beam length on each side of at least 20 
inches, and 
3) A greatest inside spread across the main beams of 
at least 16 inches. 

	           OR
▪▪ Any white-tailed deer with at least one four-point antler 

and having a gross/green Boone & Crockett score of 
140 points or greater.

 A “point” as defined in these regulations is at least four inches 
long for elk and at least one inch long for deer, measured from 
base to tip. Boone & Crockett (B&C) measuring procedures 
or standards are used for criteria measurement. The official 
measurements for the purpose of this regulation are those that 
are taken at the time of confiscation or seizure of the trophy. Any 
B&C measurements will be considered final when taken by an 
official B&C scorer, regardless of drying time. If the skullcap of 
antlers or horns is broken in such a manner to render an official 
B&C score invalid, three official B&C scorers will estimate a 
score. The three scores will be averaged and the average score 
used to determine trophy status in accordance with Montana law.
Simulated Wildlife
It is illegal to discharge a firearm or other hunting implement 
at a simulated wildlife decoy in violation of any state statute, 
Administrative Rules of Montana (ARM), or F&W commission 
rule regulating the hunting of the wildlife being simulated.

Transport of Wildlife
•	An individual other than the license holder may transport 

properly tagged animals that comply with the “Evidence of 
Sex Requirements” and that were lawfully taken by the license 
holder. If you have specific questions, please contact FWP 
Enforcement at 406‑444‑2452.

•	All shippers of fish, game or nongame birds, game animals, fur-
bearing animals, the skins of fur-bearing animals or predatory 
animals, or parts thereof are required to label all packages 
offered for shipment by parcel post or common carrier (airlines, 
UPS, U.S. Postal Service, etc.). The label must be securely 
attached to the address of the package and shall plainly indicate 
the names and addresses of the consignor and consignee and 
the complete contents of the package. It is a violation of the 
Federal Lacey Act to transport an illegally taken game animal 
across state boundaries. 

•	 It is illegal to ship, possess, or take out of state illegally killed 
game, game-birds, and/or furbearers. If you are transporting 
lawfully taken wildlife (including parts and/or products of live or 
dead animals) between Montana and Canada or between the 
United States and any foreign country, whether for commercial 
or noncommercial purposes, you must complete a U.S. Fish 
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& Wildlife Service (USFWS) Declaration Form 3-177. Form 
3‑177 is available at all United States customs ports and on 
the USFWS website at www.fws.gov. For further information, 
contact the USFWS Wildlife Inspector at 406‑335-4350. 

•	Questions concerning carcass transport may be directed to 
FWP Enforcement at 406-444-2452 or to your home state’s 
wildlife division.

Hunter Land Access
Hunters, it is your responsibility to know where you are, to know 
who owns the land, and to know what access restrictions apply. 
Fishing Access Sites
Many of FWP’s fishing access sites (FAS) offer hunting 
opportunities; however, certain restrictions may apply such 
as no-hunting safety zones and/or restrictions on the type 
of hunting weapon or firearm that may be used. Refer to the 
Fishing Access Site web page at  
fwp.mt.gov/recreation/visitFwpSite.html for site specific 
information, opportunities and restrictions.

Montana State Parks
Some of Montana’s state parks provide hunting opportunities; 
however certain restrictions may apply such as no-hunting 
safety zones and/or restrictions on the type of hunting 
weapon or firearm that may be used.  Contact the specific 
park and/or refer to the Montana State Park web page at 
stateparks.mt.gov for site specific information regarding 
hunting opportunities and restrictions.

Off-Road Travel and Game Retrieval
•	While hunting on private property, a person may not drive off 

established roads or trails without landowner permission. 
•	Off-road travel on public land, including game retrieval, is 

prohibited unless designated as open. Consult appropriate 
land agency or land map for specifics.

•	All federally approved travel plans on public lands in Montana 
are hereby adopted by the F&W Commission. 

Private Land
•	Montana law requires permission for all hunting on private land. 
•	Even if the land is not posted, hunters must have permission 

from the landowner, lessee, or their agent before hunting on 
private property.

•	Access to public lands through private land requires permission 
of the private landowner, lessee, or their agent. 

•	See the Deer•Elk•Antelope Regulations for information on FWP’s 
Block Management Program.

Public Land
•	Public lands closed to hunting include: 

–– National Parks 
–– National Wildlife Refuge lands, except those areas 
designated open to public hunting. 

•	For hunting opportunities on federal lands such as U.S. Forest 
Service or U.S. Bureau of Land Management, inquire at the 
local federal office.  

Railroad Access
Railroads and railroad right-of-ways are private property 
and may not be hunted without permission, nor should they 
be used as access to other lands (private or public) without 
explicit permission from the railroad.

State Game Preserves
State game preserves may or may not be open to limited 
hunting. See Restricted Area Descriptions.

State School Trust Lands
•	A $2 fee paid when you purchase your conservation license 

provides hunters, anglers and trappers access to legally 
accessible State School Trust Lands. 

•	Overnight (2 night) camping is allowed within 200 feet of a 
legal access point.

•	Horses may not be kept on state land overnight.
•	Motorized travel is only allowed on public roads or on roads 

designated as open.
•	Game retrieval is by foot or horse only.
•	No open fires are allowed except in designated campgrounds. 
•	Firearms may not be negligently discharged within one-quarter 

mile of an inhabited dwelling or outbuilding without permission 
of the inhabitant.

•	Additional information is available from FWP or contact DNRC 
at 406‑444‑2074.

State Wildlife Management Areas (WMA) 
Wildlife Management Areas are generally open to hunting during 
the big game hunting season. WMAs with big game winter range 
are closed to public entry, unless otherwise posted, from the day 
following the end of the general deer‑elk season or December 
1, whichever is later, to noon on May 15 each year, as posted. 
Exception: There are several exceptions to these guidelines. 
For WMA specific information, please call the Regional office 
(see page 16 for contact numbers) or visit the FWP website at: 

http://fwp.mt.gov/fishAndWildlife/wma/
Stream Access 
Big game hunting between the ordinary high-water marks 
of streams and rivers is illegal without adjacent landowner 
permission.

Tribal Land 
Big Game hunting by Non-Tribal members on Indian 
Reservations is prohibited by the State of Montana unless it 
is provided for in a cooperative agreement between the Tribal 
Government and the State of Montana.  Check with local 
Tribal Government before attempting to hunt on an Indian 
Reservation. See “Contacts Outside FWP” on page 16.
License and Permit Possession
•	Licenses and permits must be carried on your person at all 

times while in the field hunting.
•	Licenses and permits must be produced if requested by FWP 

Enforcement personnel.
Methods and Means of Hunting

Firearms
•	There is no rifle or handgun caliber limitation for the taking of 

big game animals except as noted for Weapons Restriction 
Areas (see page 6). Match the caliber and firearm to the size 
of the animal hunted.  

•	Muzzleloaders, shotguns, archery equipment, and crossbows 
are legal. 

Archery Equipment 
•	 It is unlawful to use any chemical or explosive device attached 

to an arrow to aid in the taking of wildlife. 
•	Lawful Archery Equipment: It is illegal to possess, while hunting 

big game during any archery only season and in archery 
equipment only areas, archery equipment that does not meet 
the following criteria:
–– Hunting Bow: A hunting bow for big game shall be a 
longbow, flatbow, recurve bow, compound bow, or any 
combination of these designs.

–– The bow must be a device for launching an arrow, which 
derives its propulsive energy solely from the bending and 
recovery of two limbs (includes bows with split limbs).

–– The bow must be hand drawn by a single and direct 
uninterrupted pulling action of the shooter. 

–– The bow must be hand-held. One hand shall hold the 
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bow and the other hand draw the bowstring. Exception: 
Physically disabled bowhunters certified by FWP with the 
Permit To Modify Archery Equipment (PTMAE) are exempt 
from the requirement of holding or shooting the bow with 
their hands.

–– The bow shall be no shorter than 28 inches measured axle 
to axle.

–– The nominal percent of let-off for hunting bows shall be a 
maximum of 80 percent. 

–– Arrow: An arrow is a projectile at least 20 inches in overall 
length. The length of the arrow is measured from the 
rearward point of the nock to the tip of the broadhead.

–– A broadhead is mounted on the fore end.
–– The arrow shall weigh no less than 300 grains with the 
broadhead attached.

–– Arrows must have broadheads with at least two cutting 
edges. Expandable broadheads are legal as long as when 
expanded they are at least 7/8 inches at the widest point, 
and weigh no less than 70 grains.

Procedures to Follow After Harvesting an Animal
Evidence Required of Game Animal’s Sex and Species
•	 It is illegal to possess or transport the carcass of any big game 

animal unless evidence of the animal’s sex and species remains 
naturally attached to its carcass or a portion of the carcass.

•	Evidence of sex must remain naturally attached to the hide. 
The following are considered lawful evidence of sex: 
–– males: penis, scrotum, testicles or baculum; 
–– females: vulva. 

•	As a condition of hunting in Montana, you may be required to 
return to the kill site if requested to do so by an FWP warden.

License Validation and Tagging
•	 Immediately after killing a game animal, a hunter must cut out 

the proper month and day of the kill from the appropriate license 
and attach it to the animal in a secure and visible manner.

•	Carcass/Hide Tag Clarification: Successful grizzly bear hunters 
are required to immediately validate the hide tag and carcass 
tag and attach both to the hide. After the hide is removed from 
the carcass, the carcass tag must be separated from the hide 
tag and attached to the carcass. 

•	To properly validate a license (sometimes referred to as a tag):
–– A hunter must cut out the proper month and day of the kill from 
the appropriate license and attach it to the animal before the 
carcass is removed from the site of kill, or before the hunter 
leaves the site of the kill.

–– The license must be attached to the animal in a secure and 
clearly visible manner.

–– Tearing, slicing or punching the tag is not legal.
•	The properly validated carcass license must remain with the meat 

(including cold storage) until consumed. If quartered, the carcass 
license should remain with the largest portion of the carcass.

Prohibited Methods of Hunting
Aerial Spotting
The use of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV) for the purpose 
of locating, spotting or hunting big game, upland birds or 
other species under the management authority of FWP during 
commission-established hunting seasons is prohibited. Aircraft 
may not be used to locate big game animals for the purpose of:
•	Hunting those animals during the same hunting day after a 

person has been airborne or;
•	Providing information for another person for the purpose of 

hunting those animals within the same hunting day after being 
airborne;

Artificial Light
It is illegal for anyone to take or attempt to take any game 
animal or game bird with the aid of projected artificial light. 

Baiting
•	 It is illegal for anyone to hunt or attempt to hunt by the aid of or 

with the use of any bait, salt lick, trap, snare or set gun. 
•	Baiting shall mean the placing, exposing, depositing, 

distributing, or scattering of food sources or salt so as to 
constitute a lure or attraction.

Dogs
It is illegal to bait bears or to hunt bears with dogs. No scents 
may be used to attract grizzly bears.

Game Calls
It is illegal to use a recorded or electrically amplified game call 
to hunt big game.

Motion-Tracking Devices and/or Camera Devices
It is illegal for a person to possess or use in the field any 
electronic or camera device whose purpose is to scout the 
location of game animals or relay the information on a game 
animal’s location or movement during any Commission-
adopted hunting season.

Motorized Vehicles
It is illegal for anyone to:
•	Hunt or attempt to hunt any game animal or game bird: from any 

self propelled (motorized) or drawn vehicle. Even if the vehicle 
is not moving, hunters must be off or out of the vehicle. Holders 
of Permit To Hunt From A Vehicle are the exception to this.

•	Use a motorized vehicle or aircraft to concentrate, drive, rally, 
stir-up, corral, or harass game animals. 

•	Operate, on public lands, a motorized wheeled vehicle off legal 
routes (including game retrieval). Contact the appropriate land 
management agencies for travel plan information.

Night Vision Equipment
It is illegal to use night vision equipment or electronically 
enhanced light gathering optics for locating or hunting game.

Public Roadways
It is illegal for anyone to hunt or attempt to hunt any game 
animal or game bird: on, from, or across any public highway 
or the shoulder, berm, barrow pit or right-of-way of any public 
highway (the entire width between the boundary lines of 
every publicly maintained way when any part thereof is open 
to the use of the public for purposes of vehicular travel, in the 
State of Montana, as per Montana law).

Two-way Communication
Two-way electronic communication (radios, cell phones, text 
messages, etc.) may not be used to: 
•	hunt game animals or upland game birds, migratory birds or 

furbearers as defined in Montana law (“Hunt” means to “pursue, 
shoot, wound, kill, chase, lure, possess or capture.”); or 

•	avoid game checking stations or FWP enforcement personnel; 
or 

•	 to facilitate illegal activity. 
The rule does not prohibit the possession or use of two-way 
communication for safety or other legitimate purposes. 

Youth Restrictions
In order to carry or use a firearm for any reason, a youth 
under 14 years of age must be accompanied by a person 
having charge or custody of the child, or be under the 
supervision of a qualified firearms safety instructor or an adult 
18 years of age or older who has been authorized by the 
youth’s parent or guardian, as per Montana law.
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General Distribution of Bears in Montana

Waste of Game
Hunters or persons in possession of a game animal or game 
animal parts are prohibited from wasting or rendering unfit for 
human consumption any part of a game animal that is defined 
as “suitable for food.” Hunters are prohibited from wasting 
grizzly bear meat unless the meat is determined to contain 
Trichinella (MCA 87-6-205). Definition of parts of a grizzly bear 
that are considered suitable for food: All four quarters above 
the hock including loin and backstraps.
Trichinella in Bears
Trichinella is a parasite of mammals and some birds. Immature 
parasites develop cysts in the muscle of the host animal and 
are transmitted to a new host when infected meat is eaten raw 
or undercooked. Wild animals rarely show signs of infection. 
Humans and domestic dogs or cats can become infected with 
Trichinella by consuming raw or undercooked meat from an 
infected animal. Symptoms of infection vary and may be severe. 
All bear and mountain lion meat should be treated as if it were 
infected. Freezing will not kill the organism; however cooking at 
temperatures above 165 degrees Fahrenheit will kill the parasite. 
Many processing techniques (jerky and smoked meats) may not 
reach the proper temperature. FWP recommends that all bear 
meat be well cooked to an internal temperature of 165 degrees 
before consumption by humans or pets. FWP does not offer 
Trichinella testing. For further information call the FWP lab at 
406-994-6357.

Carry Bear Pepper Spray and                              
Know How To Use It!
•	Hunting puts you at risk of encountering a bear. Calling game 

and using scents may attract bears.
•	 If you hunt alone, let someone know about your plans. If you 

feel uneasy hunting alone, hunt with a partner.
•	Bears are opportunists and change their behavior to take 

advantage of new food sources. Always assume that grizzlies 
are in the area and make sure your camps, cabins, and homes 
are bear proof, and that bear attractants are unavailable or 
contained.

•	Mentally rehearse a worst-case scenario with encountering 
a bear. “If the mind has never been there before, the body 
does not know how to respond.” The following is a list of 
recommended responses to minimize the likelihood of attack 
or chances of human injury:
–– Make certain you have bear pepper spray at the ready and 
know how to use it. In sudden grizzly encounters, bear 
pepper spray has proven effective. Bears sprayed in the 
face at close range often stop attacking.

––Always maintain a safe distance from bears.
•	Report encounters with Grizzly Bears to FWP at 

1‑800‑TIP‑MONT, U.S. Forest Service, or one of the nearest 
FWP bear management specialists listed below:
–– Kevin Frey, Bozeman, MT 406-994-3553
–– Mike Madel, Choteau, MT 406-466-5100
–– Tim Manley, Kalispell, MT 406-250-1265
–– Kim Annis, Libby, MT 406-293-4161 x207
–– James Jonkel, Missoula, MT 406-542-5508	
–– In an actual emergency, phone 9-1-1. Seeing a grizzly is 
not necessarily a reportable encounter or an emergency. 
Report  encounters where the bear displayed aggressive or 
defensive behavior toward people, livestock or pets.

Hunters must be able to tell the difference between a 
grizzly and a black bear.

•	 Learn how to identify bears.
•	 Be absolutely sure of your target.
•	 If in doubt, don’t shoot.

Look for a combination of characteristics 

Be Bear Aware!

BLACK BEAR

No shoulder hump
Tall pointed

ears

Straight
face
profile

Short
claws

Dished
face
profile

Short rounded
 ears Shoulder hump

Long
claws

GRIZZLY BEAR
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Contacts

Contacts Outside Fish, Wildlife & Parks
Land Maps
	 Bureau of Land Management 
		  406-896-5000
	 Topographical (USGS)	
		  888-275-8747

REGION 1
490 N Meridian Rd
Kalispell, MT 59901
(406) 752-5501

REGION 2
3201 Spurgin Rd
Missoula, MT 59804
(406) 542-5500

REGION 3
1400 South 19th Ave
Bozeman, MT 59718-5496
(406) 994-4042

HELENA Area Res Office
 (HARO)
930 Custer Ave W
Helena, MT 59620
(406) 495-3260

BUTTE Area Res Office
 (BARO)
1820 Meadowlark Ln
Butte, MT 59701
(406) 494-1953

REGION 4
4600 Giant Springs Rd
Great Falls, MT 59405
(406) 454-5840

LEWISTOWN Area Res
 Office (LARO)
215 W Aztec Dr
PO Box 938
Lewistown, MT 59457
(406) 538-4658

REGION 5
2300 Lake Elmo Dr
Billings, MT 59105
(406) 247-2940

REGION 6
1 Airport Rd
Glasgow, MT 59230
(406) 228-3700

HAVRE Area Res Office
 (HvARO)
2165 Hwy 2 E
Havre, MT 59501
(406) 265-6177

REGION 7
352 I-94 Business Loop
PO Box 1630
Miles City, MT 59301
(406)234-0900

Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks Regional Headquarters

Tribal Lands
	 Blackfeet Reservation
		  406-338-7276
	 Crow Reservation
		  406-638-2179
	 Flathead Reservation
		  406-883-2888 
		          ext 7200 or 7273
	 Fort Belknap
		  406-353-2205
	 Fort Peck Reservation
		  406-768-5305
	 Northern Cheyenne Reservation
		  406-477-6526
	 Rocky Boy Reservation
		  406-395-4207

Montana State Agencies
	 Agriculture
		  406-444-3144
	 Guides & Outfitters
		  406-841-2300
	 Livestock
		  406-444-7323
	 State Lands
		  406-444-2074
	 Tourism	
		  406-841-2870
Federal Agencies
	 US Department of Interior
 	  	 202-208-3100
	 US Fish & Wildlife Service
		  406-449-5225
	 US forest Service
		  406-329-3511
	 Bureau of Land Management
		  406-896-5000
	 National Weather Service
		  406-329-4840 (Missoula)

Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks State Headquarters
	 1420 East 6th Avenue, PO Box 200701,
	 Helena, MT 59620-0701...........................406‑444‑2535
Hunter Education...........................................406-444-9948
Wildlife Bureau..............................................406-444-2612
Enforcement Bureau.....................................406-444-2452
Parks Division (Montana State Parks)...........406-444-3750
Special drawings...........................................406-444-2950
Resident and nonresident licensing..............406-444-2535
Hearing Impaired (use Montana  
	 Relay).......................................7-1-1 or 1-800-253-4091

Grizzly Bear hunt information is available by calling  
1-406-xxx-xxxx.These tables, including adjustments for daylight savings 

time, are the official sunrise-sunset tables adopted by the 
Montana Fish  & Wildlife Commission for hunting in Montana.  
Authorized hunting hours for the taking of grizzly bear begin 
one-half hour before sunrise and end one-half hour after 
sunset each day of the hunting season.  (Do not use other 
sources.)

2016 Sunrise-Sunset Tables For Determining Hunting 
Hours

ZONE 2
INCLUDES:  Beaverhead, Broadwater, Cascade, Chouteau, Deer Lodge, 
Gallatin, Glacier, Hill, Jefferson, Lewis & Clark, Liberty, Madison, Meagher, 
Park, Pondera, Powell, Silver Bow, Teton and Toole Counties.

	 Mar	 Apr	 Nov	 Dec
	 Rise   Set	 Rise   Set	 Rise   Set	 Rise   Set
Day	 A.M.  P.M.	 A.M.  P.M.	 A.M.  P.M.	 A.M.  P.M.
01	 7:06	6:15	 7:06	7:58	 8:11	6:12	 7:52	4:42
02	 7:05	6:16	 7:04	7:59	 8:12	6:10	 7:54	4:42
03	 7:03	6:18	 7:03	8:01	 8:14	6:09	 7:55	4:42
04	 7:01	6:19	 7:01	8:02	 8:15	6:08	 7:56	4:41
05	 6:59	6:21	 6:59	8:03	 8:17	6:06	 7:57	4:41
06	 6:57	6:22	 6:57	8:05	 7:18	5:05	 7:58	4:41
07	 6:55	6:23	 6:55	8:06	 7:20	5:04	 7:59	4:41
08	 6:53	6:25	 6:53	8:07	 7:21	5:02	 8:00	4:41
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