Wolf - Western Great Lakes
Midwest Region


Map that outlines the 8 states of the Midwest Region: Illinois, Iowa, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin.


News Release


September 16, 2009

Georgia Parham 812-334-4261 x 1203
Laura Ragan 612-713-5157



U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Issues Final Rule Reinstating
Endangered Species Act Protections for Western Great Lakes Wolves


The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service today published a final rule in the Federal Register acknowledging that Endangered Species Act protections are reinstated for the gray wolf in the western Great Lakes.  The rule complies with a court order and settlement agreement which effectively restored ESA protections on July 1, 2009.


The Service reached a settlement agreement with plaintiffs in a lawsuit challenging the Service’s April 2009 rule removing Endangered Species Act protections for gray wolves in the western Great Lakes. Under the terms of the agreement, the Service will provide an additional opportunity for public comment on any future proposed rule to remove ESA protection for wolves in the western Great Lakes region.


This settlement agreement does not affect the status of gray wolves in other parts of the United States.


The mission of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is working with others to conserve, protect and enhance fish, wildlife, plants and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American people. We are both a leader and trusted partner in fish and wildlife conservation, known for our scientific excellence, stewardship of lands and natural resources, dedicated professionals and commitment to public service. For more information on our work and the people who make it happen, visit www.fws.gov.




Last updated: October 15, 2018