Find Locations Near You



The Midwest Region includes Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin. Find a location near you and plan your visit today »



Conserving the Nature of America

The mission of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is working with others to conserve, protect, and enhance fish, wildlife, plants, and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American people.

Gray Wolf (Canis lupus)

Archived Information about Depredation Control in Michigan and Wisconsin


Control of Depredating Wolves in Wisconsin and Michigan
After our 2003 reclassification of midwestern wolves was judicially overturned, States sought authority to kill depredating wolves. In April 2005 the Service issued limited subpermits providing this authority to Michigan and Wisconsin Departments of Natural Resources. In September 2005 the subpermits were enjoined by Federal District Court in Washington, DC, due to inadequate public notice of the States' applications.


After the subpermits were enjoined, the States applied for full permits to kill depredating wolves. In May 2006, a permit was issued to the Wisconsin DNR and the Michigan DNR. The Humane Society of the U.S. and others filed suit against the Department of the Interior (DOI) and the Service for issuance of those permits. On August 9, 2006 a U.S. District Court judge ruled against DOI and the permits were no longer in effect. DOI began an appeal, but when the Gray Wolf Western Great Lakes Distinct Population Segment was delisted in 2007, the appeal became moot.


August 9, 2006 District Court Judge's Opinion: Humane Society of the United States, et al., vs Dirk Kempthorne, Secretary of the Interior, et al. (34-page PDF)


Wisconsin Wolf Depredation Control: Endangered Species Permit and Environmental Assessment (May 2006)


Michigan Wolf Depredation Control: Endangered Species Permit and Environmental Assessment (May 2006)



History of Decline, Protection and Recovery

Gray Wolves in the Western Great Lakes States