Wolf - Western Great Lakes
Midwest Region


Map that outlines the 8 states of the Midwest Region: Illinois, Iowa, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin.


Archive of Previous Federal Actions Affecting Gray Wolf ESA Status

Gray Wolf Western Great Lakes DPS

Withdrawal of April 2009 Delisting Decision to Provide Opportunity for Public Comment


In response to a legal challenge, the Service withdrew the April 2, 2009 final rule that delisted the Western Great Lakes population of gray wolves. The Service agrees with the plaintiffs that sufficient opportunity for public review and comment, as required by federal law, was not provided before the April 2009 final decision was published.


The effect of this withdrawal will be to reinstate Endangered Species Act protections for gray wolves in the Western Great Lakes area that was delisted in the April 2009 final rule, while the Service gathers additional public comment. Therefore, gray wolves are now threatened in Minnesota and endangered elsewhere in the western Great Lakes region.


September 16, 2009 Federal Register Final Rule: Reinstatement of Protections for the Gray Wolf in the Western Great Lakes in Compliance with Settlement Agreement and Court Order The court order and settlement agreement restored Endangered Species Act protections for the gray wolf in the western Great Lakes on July 1, 2009; this final rule corrects the gray wolf listing status in our regulations.


News Release (September 16, 2009) - U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Issues Final Rule Reinstating Endangered Species Act Protections for Western Great Lakes Wolves


July 1, 2009: Signed Settlement Agreement (PDF)


News Release (June 29, 2009)


Questions and Answers (June 29, 2009)



Western Great Lakes Wolf Home


Last updated: October 15, 2018