Wolf - Western Great Lakes
Midwest Region


Map of Region 3 Minnesota Wisconsin Michigan



April 1, 2003 Final Rule to Reclassify/Delist the Gray Wolf kes DPS

This Final Rule is no longer in effect.

Map of Distinct Population Segments Esablished in 2003 Final Rule

On April 1, 2003, three Gray Wolf Distinct Population Segments were designated: Eastern, Western, and Southwestern. The Eastern and Western Distinct Population Segments were designated as threatened and the Southwestern Distinct Population Segment remained endangered. The map below shows the three gray wolf distinct population segments.


On January 31, 2005, the Oregon U.S. District Court issued an opinion and order on our 2003 reclassification rule. The Oregon ruling concluded that the 2003 DPS boundaries and reclassification decisions were "arbitrary and capricious" and violated the Endangered Species Act. The Court's ruling invalidated the April 2003 changes. The Vermont District Court ruled similarly. Therefore, the ESA status illustrated in the map below is no longer valid, and the Service currently considers the gray wolf to have reverted back to the ESA status that existed prior to the 2003 reclassification.


PDF Version of map


Map showing ESA status of gray wolves.




Back to Archives of 2003 Final Rule to Reclassify and Delist



Last updated: September 12, 2016