Wolf - Western Great Lakes
Midwest Region


Map that outlines the 8 states of the Midwest Region: Illinois, Iowa, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin.


Archive of Previous Federal Actions Affecting Gray Wolf ESA Status

July 13, 2000 Proposal to Reclassify/Delist the Gray Wolf in the Lower 48 States


On July 13, 2000, we proposed reclassifying and delisting the gray wolf in portions of the U.S. Information on that proposal is provided below. The proposal was finalized on April 1, 2003 (see the 2003 Final Reclassification/Delisting Rule for information on the 2003 Final Rule) However, on January 31, 2005, a U.S. District Court in Portland, Oregon vacated and enjoined the 2003 Final Rule and the U.S. District Court of Vermont ruled similarly. Therefore, the gray wolf ESA status reverted back to that which existed prior to the 2003 reclassification (i.e., Threatened in Minnesota and Endangered in the remainder of the lower 48 states).


Here is what we proposed

July 13, 2000 Federal Register Proposed Rule: Proposal to Reclassify and Remove the Gray Wolf from the List of Endangered and Threatened Wildlife in Portions of the Conterminous United Statesl (PDF)
(509 KB pdf file - 48 pages)


Additional information about the Proposed Rule

Summary of the Proposed Rule


Questions and Answers about the Proposed Rule


Map of the proposed gray wolf "Distinct Population Segments"


References for the Proposal (pdf file)


News Release

Gray Wolves Rebound; U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Proposes To Reclassify, Delist Wolves in Much of United States


Back to Archives

Midwest Wolf Home


Last updated: October 15, 2018