Ohio Ecological Services Field Office
Midwest Region

Endangered Species

Listed Species with Lead in Ohio

Candidate Species



Habitat Conservation Plan (HCP) Information

Request Information
Section 7 Consultation

The Endangered Species Act (ESA) directs all Federal agencies to work to conserve endangered and threatened species and to use their authorities to further the purposes of the Act. Section 7 of the Act, called "Interagency Cooperation," is the mechanism by which Federal agencies ensure the actions they take, including those they fund or authorize, do not jeopardize the existence of any listed species.

Under the regulations implementing section 7 of the Endangered Species Act, all federal agencies funding, authorizing or carrying out a discretionary action must consult with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Service) if they determine that their actions "may affect" threatened or endangered species (50 CFR 402.14). While consultation is only required for those actions which "may affect" threatened or endangered species, we are often asked to concur with an action agency's "no effect" determinations as well. However, due to declining budgets, smaller staffs, and competing priorities, we are unable to respond to requests for concurrence on "no effect" determinations.

Click on the links below for additional information on Section 7 Consultation:

Section 7 Consultation - An explanation of the consultation process:

Additional Section 7 Information on the FWS National Site:

Frequently asked questions regarding section 7 consultation:

More Information

Last updated: February 20, 2012