Migratory Birds
Midwest Region

Migratory Birds Office Directory

Tom Cooper
Chief, Migratory Birds
612-713-5338
tom_cooper@fws.gov

Andy Forbes
Deputy Chief, Migratory Birds
612-713-5364
andrew_forbes@fws.gov

Administrative Officer: Vacant

Terry Prax
Administrative Officer – Budget
612-713-5326
terry_prax@fws.gov


Division of Migratory Bird Management

Katie O'Brien
Northern Forest Birds, Midwest Avian Data Center
906-226-1249
katie_obrien@fws.gov

Rachael Pierce
Double-crested Cormorants, Waterbirds, Shorebirds
517-351-5219
rachael_pierce@fws.gov

Kelly VanBeek
Grassland birds, Woodcock Singing Ground Survey
608-238-9333 ext. 31011
kelly_vanbeek@fws.gov

Tom Will
Urban Birds, Black Vultures, Partners In Flight
612-713-5362
tom_will@fws.gov


Migratory Bird Permits

Larry Harrison
Permits Chief
612-713-5489
larry_harrison@fws.gov

Deanne Endrizzi
Eagle Disturbance/Take Permits, Scientific Collecting
612-713-5441
deanne_endrizzi@fws.gov

Jason Mercado
Other Permits (IL, IN, MN, OH)
612-713-5421
jason_mercado@fws.gov

Mags Rheude
Eagle Take Permits (wind energy)
612-713-5438
margaret_rheude@fws.gov

Beth Rigby
Eagle Take Permits (wind energy)
612-713-5141
elizabeth_rigby@fws.gov

Rick Rottman
Other Permits (IA, MI, MO, WI)
612-713-5449
richard_rottman@fws.gov


Upper Mississippi/Great Lakes Joint Venture

Doug Gorby
JV Coordinator
517-351-8286
douglas_gorby@fws.gov

Mohammed Al-Saffar
Bird Conservation Modeler
517-351-8334
mohammed_al-saffar@fws.gov

Anna Sidie-Slettedahl
Assistant JV Coordinator
612-713-5129
anna_sidie-slettedahl@fws.gov

Greg Soulliere
Science Coordinator
517-351-4214
greg_soulliere@fws.gov


Habitat and Population Evaluation Team (HAPET)

Mike Estey
Deputy Chief
218-736-0606
mike_estey@fws.gov

Jaymi LeBrun
Bird Conservation Modeler
612-713-5346
jaymi_lebrun@fws.gov

Natalee Yates
Technician
218-736-0664
natalee_yates@fws.gov

Last updated: September 3, 2020