Endangered Species
Midwest Region



Midwest Region State Map

The Midwest Region includes Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin. Find a location near you


Endangered Species Program

Conserving and restoring threatened and endangered species and their ecosystems


Great Lake Restoration Initiative logo

Decontamination Protocol for Bat Field Studies


These protocols apply to anyone handling bats and working under a Federal Fish and Wildlife Permit (frequently referred to as a Federal Research Permit). The purpose of the protocols are to minimize the potential for transmission of white-nose syndrome (WNS) while handling bats (both between handler and bats and between bats). 


National White-Nose Syndrome Decontamination Protocol (use the most current version of the Protocol provided on the website)


Indiana Bat Home

White-nose Syndrome Home

Midwest Endangered Species Home


Last updated: March 12, 2018