Endangered Species
Midwest Region



Map of the eight states in the Midwest Region: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin.

The Midwest Region includes Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin. Find a location near you


Endangered Species Program

Conserving and restoring threatened and endangered species and their ecosystems


Great Lake Restoration Initiative logo

Rusty Patched Bumble Bee

Map of Priority Areas for Habitat Assessments, Habitat Improvement and Surveys


This map is a guide for bee surveyors who have some discretion on survey locations. It can also be used for folks interested in conducting habitat assessments and habitat improvements in priority areas. The map shows areas (10x10km grids) of most interest for rusty patched bumble bee surveys and habitat assessments, ranked by priority. The order of priority is given in the legend; the first priority are grids that have had the most recent detections of the species, followed by other grids that intersect with High Priority Zones, then grids that intersect with Primary Dispersal Zones, then those that intersect with Uncertainty zones, then areas with historical records of rusty patched bumble bees and other areas of interest. This map is subject to change as we update our priority areas.  Please review the surveyor webpage for survey guidance, zone definitions, and recommendations for obtaining a scientific recovery permit. 


Preventing Extinction Priorities - Service biologists are working with bumble bee and conservation biology experts to identify and carry out actions that can stop the downward spiral of this species and prevent its extinction.


Map may be slow to load


Click the double right arrows to view legend.

Once the legend is open, click on the > on the far right to open additional features.




Survey Protocols


Last updated: February 7, 2019