Wolf - Western Great Lakes
Midwest Region


Map that outlines the 8 states of the Midwest Region: Illinois, Iowa, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin.


Photo of a gray wolf.  Photo Credit Corel Corporation (copyrighted)

Photo by Corel Corporatation (copyrighted)


About Gray Wolves in the Western Great Lakes States


Western Great Lakes Distinct Population Segment

Final Rule to Delist - - Due to a Federal court decision, wolves in the western Great Lakes area (including Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin) were relisted under the Endangered Species Act, effective December 19, 2014.


Map of the Gray Wolf Western Great Lakes Distinct Population Segment




Questions and Answers about Gray Wolf Biology


Was that a Wolf? (PDF) a fact sheet on how to identify wolves and differentiate from coyotes and wild dogs


Wolves are not good pets



Population Size and Range


U.S. Gray Wolf Population


Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Michigan Gray Wolf Population


Minnesota Range Expansion


Minnesota Wolf Distribution and Management Zones (PDF)




Eastern Timber Wolf Recovery Plan (74 page PDF; 4.79MB)


Gray Wolf Recovery in Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Michigan


Wolf Recovery in North America (2013): 1-page PDF



Midwest Wolf Home


Last updated: October 15, 2018