Spring Storm in the Great Basin Red Cliffs Desert Tortoise Reserve After a Spring Storm in the Great Basin Hunting Upland Birds at Kingsbury Lake Waterfowl Production Area Sandhill Migration on the Platte River Badlands Sunrise The Green River at Ouray NWR North Park Lupines Moab Sunset
Kansas Ecological Services
Mountain-Prairie Region
Graphic button showing the 8 state mountain prairie region

Landowner Tools

Safe Harbor Agreements

A Safe Harbor Agreement (SHA) is a voluntary agreement involving private or other non-Federal property owners whose actions contribute to the recovery of species listed as threatened or endangered under the Endangered Species Act (ESA). The agreement is between cooperating non-Federal property owners and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service or the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, which is responsible for most listed marine and anadromous fish species.

In exchange for actions that contribute to the recovery of listed species on non- Federal lands, participating property owners receive formal assurances from the Service that if they fulfill the conditions of the SHA, the Service will not require any additional or different management activities by the participants without their consent. In addition, at the end of the agreement period, participants may return the enrolled property to the baseline conditions that existed at the beginning of the SHA.

National FWS Information: National FWS Safe Harbor Agreements

CCAA (Candidate Conservation Agreements with Assurances)

What are Candidate Conservation Agreements with Assurances (CCAAs)? These are voluntary conservation agreements between the Service and one or more non-Federal landowner(s). The Service works with its partners,including local, state and federal agencies, to

  • Identify threats to Candidate Species (or species at risk)
  • Plan the measures needed to remove or reduce the threats and conserve these species
  • Identify willing landowners
  • Develop agreements
  • Design and implement conservation measures
  • Monitor their effectiveness

The CCAA program is only available for non-Federal landowners on non-Federal lands and provides the assurance that if enrolled landowners implement various conservation activities, they will not be subject to additional restrictions if the covered species becomes listed under the Endangered Species Act. It is this very concern about the potential regulatory implications of having a listed species on their land that prompted the Service to develop this tool.

National FWS Information: National FWS Candidate Conservation Agreements with Assurances

CCA (Candidate Conservation Agreements)

What are Candidate Conservation Agreements (CCAs)?  CCAs are voluntary conservation agreements between the Service and one or more public or private parties.  The Service works with its partners to identify threats to candidate species (or species at risk), plan the measures needed to address the threats and conserve these species, identify willing landowners, develop agreements, and design and implement conservation measures and monitor their effectiveness.

Proposed Permit Application and Agreement Package (CCAA/SHA) to Protect 14 Species in Kansas: 

The Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks (KDWP) has applied for a permit associated with the implementation of a programmatic safe harbor agreement (SHA) and candidate conservation agreement with assurances (CCAA) for 14 aquatic species in Kansas. The purpose of this proposed CCAA/SHA is for the US Fish and Wildlife Service to join with KDWP and participating non-federal property owners to implement conservation measures for the 14 aquatic species. The CCAA/SHA would facilitate the reintroduction and implementation of conservation for the covered species on non-Federal lands across the state of Kansas. All of the proposed covered species are Species in Need of Conservation, designated by the State. This proposed agreement was developed by state, federal, and local partners working together to provide conservation for federally-listed or at-risk species across the state of Kansas. 

Proposed species to be covered by the SHA: Topeka shiner, Neosho mucket, Arkansas River shiner, rabbitsfoot musssel, and Neosho madtom. 

Proposed species to be covered by the CCAA: Alligator snapping turtle, Peppered chub, Plains minnow, Silver chub, Hornyhead chub, butterfly mussel, Fluted shell, Cylindrical papershell, and Flat floater. 

For further information on this proposed permit and agreement package, contact Gibran Suleiman, Fish and Wildlife Biologist, Kansas Ecological Services Field Office, via phone: 785–539–3474 ext. 114 or via email: gibran_suleiman@fws.gov. 

On September 15, 2021, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service announced the availability of documents to be reviewed and invites the public to submit comments.

Press Release: Public Invited to Comment on Permit & Agreement Package to Protect 14 Aquatic Species in Kansas.

Documents are available for review in Docket No. FWS–R6–ES–2021–0056 at https://www.regulations.gov/document/FWS-R6-ES-2021-0056-0001. 


The mission of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is working with Others to conserve, protect, and enhance fish, wildlife, plants and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American People.
Last modified: September 15, 2021
All Images Credit to and Courtesy of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Unless Specified Otherwise.
flickr youtube