Historical Preservation Award

worm plot
Volunteers and Staff from Lee Metcalf NWR restore the historic Whaley Homestead.
Credit USFWS
Original Worm plots used by Rachel Carson during her important DDT research. The plots, located on Patuxent Research Refuge, are eligible for National Register listing.
Credit USFWS
National Register of Historic Places plaque that is placed on historic buildings that have been successfully nominated to the Register, a cornerstone of the NHPA.
Credit: NPS
Lighthouse at Chincoteague NWR, managed via the NHPA process and National Register listed and a major asset to one of the most visited Refuges in the Nation.
Credit USFWS

The US Fish and Wildlife Service (Service) is responsible for protecting tens of thousands of archaeological and historic sites, sacred and traditional areas and scientifically-important museum collections that reflect the long and diverse history and traditions of our nation.

Every day, National Wildlife Refuge System staff perform outstanding work in support of the National Historic Preservation Act’s objectives that help meet our conservation mission.

The National Wildlife Refuge System Historic Preservation Award  will be used to recognize hard work and outstanding results in the protection and use of cultural resources that we manage.

Please follow the links for award criteria and nomination form. If you have any questions, contact  Eugene Marino, Service Archaeologist.

Historic Preservation Award Past Winners