FWS at a Glance
Office of External Affairs

Agency Overview
Conserving the Nature of America

Agency Overview Transition  2009
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Agency Overview
The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is the premier government agency dedicated to the conservation, protection, and enhancement of fish, wildlife and plants, and their habitats. It is the only agency in the federal government whose primary responsibility is management of these important natural resources for the American public. The Service also helps ensure a healthy environment for people through its work benefiting wildlife, and by providing opportunities for Americans to enjoy the outdoors and our shared natural heritage.

The Service is responsible for implementing and enforcing some of our Nation’s most important environmental laws, such as the Endangered Species Act, Migratory Bird Treaty Act, Marine Mammal Protection.

pdf iconU.S. Fish and Wildlife Agency Overview


Below are the Service's Regions and Programs Fact Sheets:

pdf iconPacific Region 1 pdf iconAdminstrative and Support Functions
pdf iconSouthwest Region 2 pdf iconEndangered Species
pdf iconMidwest Region 3 pdf iconFish and Habitat Conservation
pdf iconSoutheast Region 4 pdf iconInternational Affairs
pdf iconNortheast Region 5 pdf iconLaw Enforcement
pdf iconRocky Mt Prairie Region 6 pdf iconMigratory Birds
pdf iconAlaska Region 7 pdf iconNational Refuge System
pdf iconCalifornia and Nevada Region 8 pdf iconWildlife and Sport Fish Restoration


Last updated: November 14, 2008
Back to Top
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Home Page | Department of the Interior  | USA.gov  | About the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service  | Accessibility  | Privacy  | Notices  | Disclaimer  | FOIA | DOI Inspector General