Fish and Aquatic Conservation
photo of an invasive plant purple loosestrife
Native to Eurasia, purple loosestrife is a tall invasive plant with magenta-colored flowers that adapts to wetland areas. Once established, the plant begins to compete with native plants reducing natural habitats for waterfowl and other species which depend on aquatic environments. Photo credit: Todd Harless/USFWS


Contact a Regional Coordinator

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Aquatic Invasive Species Program supports a dedicated group of people who work closely with state invasive species coordinators, non-governmental groups, private landowners and many others in their day-to-day activities.

Aquatic Invasive Species Program Coordinator Outreach Efforts:

If you have any regional questions about the Aquatic Invasive Species Program, please contact any of the following staff:

NATIONAL AIS CONTACTS

Mailing address:
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
5275 Leesburg Pike
Mailstop - FAC 3C016A
Falls Church, VA 22041

Craig Martin – Branch Chief
703-358-1932
E-Mail: craig_martin@fws.gov

Susan Jewell - Fish and Wildlife Biologist
703-358-2416
E-mail: susan_jewell@fws.gov

Don MacLean - Fish and Wildlife Biologist
703-358-2108
E-Mail: don_maclean@fws.gov

Susan Pasko, PhD - Executive Secretary, Aquatic Nuisance Species Task Force
703-358-2466
E-mail: susan_pasko@fws.gov

Dolores Savignano, PhD - Fish and Wildlife Biologist
703-35-1864
Email: dolores_savignano@fws.gov


Service Regional Coordinators

Connecticut, Delaware, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, D.C., West Virginia

Sandra Keppner (Regional AIS Coordinator)
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Lower Great Lakes Fish and Wildlife Conservation Office
1101 Casey Road
Basom, NY 14013
Phone: 585/948 7039   
E-mail: sandra_keppner@fws.gov


Alabama, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands; Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri

Cindy A. Williams (Regional AIS Coordinator)
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
Fish & Wildlife Conservation Offices, Fish Technology & Fish Health
1875 Century Blvd, 4th Floor
Atlanta, GA 30345
Phone: 404-679-4148        
E-mail: cynthia_williams@fws.gov

John Galvez, PhD (Alternate SE Contact)
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
Peninsular Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Office (FWCO)
1339 20th Street
Vero Beach, FL 32960
Phone: 772/469 4314
E-mail: john_galvez@fws.gov


Indiania, Illinois, Ohio, Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin

Amy McGovern (Regional AIS Coordinator)
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Fisheries Program
Norman Pointe II
5600 American Blvd. West, Suite 990
Bloomington, MN 55437-1458
Phone: 612/713 5109
E-mail: amy_mcgovern@fws.gov

Rob Simmonds (State Plans and Grants)
R3 AIS Program
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
5600 American Blvd. West
Bloomington, MN 55437-1173
Phone: 612-713-5114
Email: rob_simmonds@fws.gov

Katherine “Kate” Wyman-Grothem, PhD
[POC for the Risk Assessment Program]
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Fisheries Program
Norman Pointe II
5600 American Blvd. West
Suite 990
Bloomington, MN 55437-1458
Phone: 612/713 5147
Email: katherine_wyman@fws.gov

Greg Conover (Mississippi River Basin Regional Panel Coordinator)
MICRA
292 San Diego Road
Carbondale, IL 62901
Phone: 618/997 6869  (x18)
E-mail: greg_conover@fws.gov

Mike Weimer (Alt. Asian Carp Contact)

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Fisheries Program
Norman Pointe II
5600 American Blvd. West
Suite 990
Bloomington, MN 55437-1458
Phone: 703/517-7624
E-mail: mike_weimer@fws.gov


Kansas, most of Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, South Dakota; Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming

Joanne Grady (Regional AIS Coordinator)
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
P.O. Box 25486-DFC
Denver, CO 80228
303-236-4519      FAX: 303-236-8163
E-Mail: joanne_grady@fws.gov

Physical/Fed Ex Address:
134 Union Blvd., Suite 665
Lakewood, CO 80228


Oklahoma and Texas; Arizona, Southern CA, and Southern Nevada

Barak Shemai (Regional AIS Coordinator)
US Fish & Wildlife Service
P.O. Box 1306
Albuquerque, NM 87103-1306
Phone: 505/248 6593
E-mail: barak_shemai@fws.gov


Idaho, most of Oregon, Washington, Northwest Montana; American Samoa, Guam, HI, N. Mariannas

Theresa Thom, PhD (Regional AIS Coordinator)
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
911 NE 11th Ave.
Portland, OR 97232
Phone: 503/736 4722
E-mail: theresa_thom@fws.gov

Joshua Fisher (Hawaii/Pacific Islands)
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Pacific Islands Fish and Wildlife Office
300 Ala Moana Blvd.
Rm 3-122, Box 50088
Honolulu, HI 96850
Phone: 808/792 9452
E-mail: joshua_fisher@fws.gov

Laura Sprague (Idaho)
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Pacific Reg. Fish Health Program - Idaho
276 Dworshak Complex Drive
Orofino, Idaho 83544
Phone: 208/476 5738      
E-mail: laura_sprague@fws.gov

Jen Poirier (Oregon)
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Columbia River Fish and Wildlife Conservation Office
1211 SE Cardinal Court, Suite 100
Vancouver, WA 98683
Phone: 360/604 2539
Email: jennifer_poirier@fws.gov

Patrick Dehaan (Washington)
Deputy Project Leader
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Western Washington Fish and Wildlife Conservation Office
510 Desmond Drive SE, Ste. 102
Lacey, WA 98503
Phone: 360-753-9090
E-mail: patrick_dehaan@fws.gov


Most of California, most of Nevada, Klamath County Oregon

Cesar Cadena Blanco, PhD (Regional AIS Coordinator)
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Fish and Aquatic Conservation Program
Pacific Southwest Region
2800 Cottage Way
Sacramento, CA 95825
Phone: (916) 978-6190
Email: cesar_blanco@fws.gov


Alaska

Aaron E. Martin (Regional AIS Coordinator)
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Alaska Regional Office
1011 East Tudor Road
Anchorage, AK 99503
Phone: 907/786 3510
E-mail: aaron_e_martin@fws.gov

Mike Buntjer
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Alaska Regional Office
Fisheries and Ecological Services
1011 E Tudor Road
Anchorage, AK 99503
Phone: 907/786 3559
E-mail: michael_buntjer@fws.gov

Lisa Dlugolecki
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Invasive Species Strike Team Coordinator
101 12th Ave #110
Fairbanks, AK 99701
Phone: 907/455 1840
E-mail: lisa_dlugolecki@fws.gov

Ben Wishnek
Fish and Wildlife Biologist
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Alaska Region Invasive Species Program
P.O. Box 2139
33398 Ski Hill Road
Soldotna, Alaska 99669
Phone: 907/251 0692
Email: ben_wishnek@fws.gov