Plan Committee

leadership and oversight in support of integrated waterfowl conservation

The North American Waterfowl Management Plan Committee provides leadership and oversight for activities undertaken in support of the North American Waterfowl Management Plan.

Its purpose is to provide a forum for discussion of major, long-term international waterfowl issues and make recommendations to directors of the federal natural resources agencies of the three signatories to the plan: the United States, Canada and Mexico.

The committee is responsible for updating the plan, considering new scientific information and national and international policy developments, and for identifying the need to change the scope of activities carried out on behalf of the plan.

The U.S. delegation to the Plan Committee consists of two  U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service representatives and on se state representative from each of the  migratory bird flyways.  Canada's six delegates represent the federal and provincial governments and non-profit conservation organizations. For Mexico, delegates represent the federal government, universities, business, and non-profit conservation organizations. The three federal natural resource agencies each have a permanent seat. The remaining seats have a three-year rotation.

There are also a number of Working Groups and Subcommittees connected with the NAWMP.

North American Waterfowl Management Plan Committee
Jerome Ford, Co-Chair
 U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Gray Anderson
 Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency

Patricia Riexinger
 New York Department of Environmental Conservation

Jay Slack
 U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Jeb Williams
 North Dakota Game and Fish Department

Dan Yparraguirre
 California Department of Fish and Wildlife

Paul Padding
 Atlantic Flyway

Basile van Havre, Co-Chair
 Canadian Wildlife Service

Dr. Michael G. Anderson
 Ducks Unlimited Canada

Lyle Saigeon
 Saskatchewan Ministry of the Environment

David Ingstrup
 Canadian Wildlife Service

Karla Guyn
 Ducks Unlimited Canada

Eric Reed
 Canadian Wildlife Service

Yolanda Aurora Alaniz Pasini
 SEMARNAT - Direccion General de Vida Silvestre

Last Updated: July 19, 2016