Advisory Group

Neotropical Migratory Bird Conservation Act

The Secretary of the Interior in 2006 convened an Advisory Group of individuals representing public and private organizations actively involved in conserving neotropical migratory birds to assist in carrying out Neotropical Migratory Bird Conservation Act (NMBCA). Members of the Advisory Group have expertise in migratory bird conservation and management and bring to the table diverse perspectives, representing the four migratory bird flyways, the National Fish and Wildlife Foundation, and national and international nonprofit organizations engaged in migratory bird conservation activities.

The Advisory Group meets annually to provide advice the Director of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service on migratory bird conservation priorities, encourage collaboration and cooperative planning, and offer a long-term strategic vision. Meetings are open to the public.

Advisory Group Members

Jim Kurth, Acting Director, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, USA
John Carlson, Jr., California Waterfowl Association, USA
Mark Elsbree, The Conservation Fund, USA
Laura Farquharson, Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment and Climate Change Canada, Canada
José Luis Pedro Funes Izaguirre, Secretariat of Environment and Natural Resources, Mexico
Wendy Jackson, Land Trust Alliance, USA
Gordon Myers, North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission, USA
David Nomsen, Pheasants Forever, Inc., USA
Glenn Olson, National Audubon Society, USA
Terry Steinwand, North Dakota Game and Fish Department, USA
Jeff Trandahl, National Fish and Wildlife Foundation, USA
Alvaro Umaña, CATIE, Tropical Agronomic Center for Research and Higher Education, Costa Rica
Tony Wasley, Nevada Department of Wildlife, USA
Eugene (Nick) Wiley, Ducks Unlimited, Inc., USA
Alberto Yanosky, Guyra Paraguay, Paraguay
Vacant, US Forest Service, USA

Last Updated: February 14, 2019