About Us

About the Migratory Bird Program

The Migratory Bird Program works with partners to protect, restore and conserve bird populations and their habitats for the benefit of future generations by:

  • ensuring long-term ecological sustainability of all migratory bird populations,
  • increasing socioeconomic benefits derived from birds,
  • improving hunting and birdwatching and other outdoor bird-related experiences, and
  • increasing awareness of the value of migratory birds and their habitats for their aesthetic, ecological, recreational and economic significance.

Among our major roles in bird management and habitat conservation, we conduct surveys; coordinate with public-private bird conservation partnerships; provide matching grants for partner-based conservation efforts; administer conservation laws and develop policies and regulations; and issue permits that allow individuals and organizations to participate in migratory bird conservation in a variety of ways.

We also help educate and engage our nation's youth in wildlife conservation topics and provide resources for parents and educators who want to help their students explore and appreciate our natural world and our feathered friends.

There are many ways that you can be involved in bird conservation! Buy a Federal Duck Stamp or Junior Duck Stamp, participate in a community citizen science project, mentor a child interested in learning to hunt, or simply grab your binoculars and step outside to watch birds in your backyard or at a park or  national wildlife refuge.

This short video gives an overview of the Migratory Bird Program and the work we do conserving America’s birds for present and future generations. 


U.S. FISH & WILDLIFE SERVICE HEADQUARTERS
5275 LEESBURG PIKE, MS: MB
FALLS CHURCH, VA 22041-3803
Phone# 703/358-1714 or 1784
FAX# 703/358-2272 or 2282

Administration
Name Title Phone Email
Jerome Ford Assistant Director 202/208-1050  
Michael Johnson Deputy Assistant Director 703/358-1784  
Elena Babij Climate Change Coordinator 703/358-2276 Eleanora_Babij@fws.gov
Michael Kreger Special Assistant 703/358-2489 Michael_Kreger@fws.gov
Delores Bigby1 Secretary 202/208-1050 Delores_Bigby@fws.gov

 

Operations
Name Title Phone Email
Laurie Shaffer Federal Duck Stamp Program 703/307-5651 Laurie_Shaffer@fws.gov
Suzanne Fellows Federal & Junior Duck Stamp Program 703/358-2145 Suzanne_Fellows@fws.gov
Colleen Holland Budget, Finance Manager 703/358-2180 Colleen_Holland@fws.gov
Dewey Mathis Administrative Support Assistant 703/358-1749 Dewey_Mathis@fws.gov
Chun-Xue Ren Program Analyst 703/358-2441 Chun-Xue_Ren@fws.gov
Celisa Riley Budget, Finance Specialist 703/358-2274 Celisa_Riley@fws.gov
Patricia Stover Administrative Officer 703/358-2263 Patricia_Stover@fws.gov

 

Communications
Name Title Phone Email
Brima Battle Visual Information Specialist 703/358-1923 Brima_Battle@fws.gov
Christopher Deets Outreach & Education Specialist 703/358-2109 Christopher_Deets@fws.gov
Rachel Fisk Levin Communication Coordinator 703/358-2405 Rachel_Levin@fws.gov

 

Division of Migratory Bird Management

Administration
Name Title Phone Email
Brad Bortner Division Chief 703/358-2026 Brad_Bortner@fws.gov
Ken Richkus Deputy Division Chief 703/358-1780 Ken_Richkus@fws.gov
Debra Allen Program Assistant 703/358-1757 Debra_T_Allen@fws.gov
Emily Bjerre15 Wildlife Biologist 703/828-5996 Emily_Bjerre@fws.gov
Brian Millsap National Raptor Coordinator 505/761-4724 Brian_Millsap@fws.gov
Eliza Savage National Eagle Program Manager 703/358-2329 Eliza_Savage@fws.gov

 

Conservation, Permits and Regulations
Name Title Phone Email
vacant Branch Chief 703/358-1835
Eric Kershner Wildlife Biologist 703/358-2376 Eric_Kershner@fws.gov
Lesley Kordella Wildlife Biologist 703/358-1963 Lesley_Kordella@fws.gov
Meghan C. Sadlowski Environmental Scientist 703/358-2218 Meghan_Sadlowski@fws.gov
Vicki Britton Permits System Specialist 703/358-2334 Vicki_N_Britton@fws.gov
Ronald Kokel Hunting Regulations Specialist 703/358-1967 Ronald_Kokel@fws.gov
Toan Nguyen Permits System Programmer 703/358-2425 Toan_Nguyen@fws.gov
Jerry Thompson Permit Coordinator 703/358-2016 Jerry_E_Thompson@fws.gov
Diana Whittington Wildlife Biologist 703/358-2010 Diana_Whittington@fws.gov

 

Harvest Surveys2
Name Title Phone Email
Khristi Wilkins Branch Chief 301/497-5557 Khristi_Wilkins@fws.gov
Tommy Ceasar Survey Clerk   Tommy_Ceaser@fws.gov
Stephen Chandler3 Wildlife Biologist 608/783-8406 Stephen_Chandler@fws.gov
Susane Finucane Secretary 301/497-5980 Susane_Finucane@fws.gov
Ellen Griffin-Pollard Survey Clerk 301/497-5992 Ellen_Griffin@fws.gov
Lamar Heckstall Survey Clerk 301/497-5989 Lamar_Heckstall@fws.gov
Pam Mathias Lead Survey Clerk 301/497-5990 Pam_Mathias@fws.gov
Robert V. Raftovich Wildlife Biologist 301/497-5984 Robert_Raftovich@fws.gov

 

Migratory Bird Surveys4
Name Title Phone Email
Mark Koneff4 Branch Chief 207/866-3344 Ext. 117 Mark_Koneff@fws.gov
Phil Thorpe5 Deputy Branch Chief 303/275-2358 Phil_Thorpe@fws.gov
Jim Bredy6 Flyway Biologist 505/248-6630 Jim_Bredy@fws.gov
Steve Earsom2 Flyway Biologist 301/497-5901 Stephen_Earsom@fws.gov
Terry Liddick7 Flyway Biologist 605/642-7730 ext. 217 Terry_Liddick@fws.gov
Walt Rhodes8 Flyway Biologist 541/312-6430 Walt_Rhodes@fws.gov
Fred Roetker9 Flyway Biologist 337/291-3090 Fred_Roekter@fws.gov
Rob Spangler5 Flyway Biologist 303/275-2391 Rob_Spangler@fws.gov
James Wortham16 Remote Sensing Biologist/Pilot 443/851-5477 Jim_Wortham@fws.gov
Sarah Yates10 Flyway Biologist 301/708-9705 Sarah_Yates@fws.gov

 

Population and Habitat Assessment2
Name Title Phone Email
vacant Branch Chief 301/497-5994
G. Scott Boomer Wildlife Biologist 301/497-5684 Scott_Boomer@fws.gov
Josh Dooley11 Wildlife Biologist 360/604-2564 Joshua_Dooley@fws.gov
Kathleen Fleming Ecologist 301/497-5902 Kathy_Fleming@fws.gov
Pamela Garrettson Wildlife Biologist 301/497-5865 Pam_Garrettson@fws.gov
Mark Otto Biometrician 301/497-5872 Mark_Otto@fws.gov
Rebecca Rau Wildlife Biologist 301/497-5862 Rebecca_Rau@fws.gov
Frank Rivera-Milan Wildlife Biologist 703/358-2103 or 301/497-5669 Frank_Rivera@fws.gov
Mark Seamans5 Wildlife Biologist 303/275-2388 Mark_Seamans@fws.gov
Emily Silverman Statistician 301/497-5801 Emily_Silverman@fws.gov
Guthrie Zimmerman12 Population Ecologist 916/278-9421 Guthrie_Zimmerman@fws.gov
Nathan Zimpfer Wildlife Biologist 301/497-5869 Nathan_Zimpfer@fws.gov

 

Division of Bird Habitat Conservation

Administration
Name Title Phone Email
Sarah Pearson Mott Division Chief 703/358-1910 Sarah_P_Mott@fws.gov

 

Grants
Name Title Phone Email
Kari Duncan Branch Chief 703/358-2464 Kari_Duncan@fws.gov
Lacy Alison Wildlife Biologist 703/358-2552 Lacy_Alison@fws.gov
Guy Foulks Fish & Wildlife Administrator/Neotropical Migratory Bird Conservation Act grants 703/358-1944 Guy_B_Foulks@fws.gov
Andrea Grosse Wildlife Biologist/Neotropical Migratory Bird Conservation Act grants 703/358-2472 Andrea_Grosse@fws.gov
Justin Markey Wildlife Biologist/North American Wetland Conservation Act grants 703/358-2007 Justin_Markey@fws.gov
Rodecia McKnight Grants Specialist/North American Wetland Conservation Act grants 703/358-2463 Rodecia_McKnight@fws.gov
Ellen Murphy Grants Specialist/North American Wetland Conservation Act grants-Mexico 703/358-1937 Ellen_Murphy@fws.gov
Anya Rushing Management Specialist/North American Wetland Conservation Act grants 703/358-2032 Anya_Rushing@fws.gov
Stacy Sanchez Program Support Specialist 703/358-2017 Stacy_Sanchez@fws.gov
Rachel Sullivan Natural Resource Specialist 703/358-2621 Rachel_Sullivan@fws.gov

 

Science and Planning
Name Title Phone Email
David Gordon Branch Chief 703/358-2025 David_Gordon@fws.gov
Brad Andres5 National Shorebird Coordinator 303/275-2324 Brad_Andres@fws.gov
Roxanne Bogart13 Urban Bird Treaty City Program Coordinator 413/253-8582 Roxanne_Bogart@fws.gov
Bob Ford Partners in Flight Landbird Conservation Plan Coordinator 703/358-1784 Robert_P_Ford@fws.gov
Jorge Coppen2 North American Waterfowl Management Plan Coordinator 301/497-5792 Jorge_Coppen@fws.gov
Ken Kriese Wildlife Biologist 703/358-1888 Ken_Kriese@fws.gov
January Myers Program Analyst 703/358-2006 January_Myers@fws.gov

 

Flyway Representatives and Staff

Atlantic Flyway2
Name Title Phone Email
Paul Padding Representative 301/497-5851 Paul_Padding@fws.gov
Anthony Roberts Wildlife Biologist 301/497-5852 Anthony_Roberts@fws.gov
Pat Devers Black Duck Joint Venture Coordinator 301/497-5549 Patrick_Devers@fws.gov

 

Mississippi Flyway14
Name Title Phone Email
James R. Kelley Representative 612/713-5409 James_R_Kelley@fws.gov
David Fronczak Wildlife Biologist 612/713-5411 Dave_Fronczak@fws.gov

 

Central Flyway5
Name Title Phone Email
James Dubovsky Representative 303/275-2386 James_Dubovsky@fws.gov

 

Pacific Flyway11
Name Title Phone Email
Todd Sanders Representative 360/604-2562 Todd_Sanders@fws.gov
Steve Olson Wildlife Biologist 503/231-6163 Steve_Olson@fws.gov

 

All permits are issued by our Regional Permit Officies.

To report technical, content and accessibility problems with this web site, please contact the Web Manager.

1 1849 C St NW (MS3340), Washington, DC 20240

2 USFWS, DMBM, 11510 American Holly Drive Laurel, MD 20708

3USFWS, DMBM, 555 Lester Ave., Onalaska, WI 54650

4USFWS, DMBM, 17 Godfrey Drive, Suite #2, Orono, ME 04473

5 USFWS, DMBM, 755 Parfet St., Suite 496B, Lakewood, CO 80215

6USFWS, DMBM, 500 Gold Ave., SW, Room 8501, Albuquerque, NM 87103

7 USFWS, DMBM - WPS, 423 Hatchery Circle, Spearfish, SD 57783

8 USFWS, DMBM - WPS, 63095 Deschutes Market Rd., Bend, OR 97701

9 USFWS, DMBM, 646 Cajundome Blvd., Lafayette, LA 70506

10 USFWS, DMBM, 4R Fundy Road, Falmouth, ME 04105

11USFWS, DMBM, 1211 SE Cardinal Court, Suite 100, Vancouver, WA 98683

12 USFWS, DMBM, 3020 State University Drive East, Modoc Hall, Suite 2007, Sacramento, CA 95819

13 Migratory Bird Program, USFWS, 300 Westgate Center Dr., Hadley, MA 01035-9587

14 USFWS, DMBM, 5600 American Blvd. West, Suite 990, Bloomington, MN 55437-1458

15 USFWS, DMBM, 66-437 Kamehameha Hwy #18, Haleiwa, HI 96712

16 USFWS DMBM, Branch of Migratory Bird Surveys, 16450 NW 31st Place, Chiefland, FL 32626

Last Updated: June 22, 2016