About Us

About the Migratory Bird Program

The Migratory Bird Program works with partners to protect, restore and conserve bird populations and their habitats for the benefit of future generations by:

  • ensuring long-term ecological sustainability of all migratory bird populations,
  • increasing socioeconomic benefits derived from birds,
  • improving hunting and birdwatching and other outdoor bird-related experiences, and
  • increasing awareness of the value of migratory birds and their habitats for their aesthetic, ecological, recreational and economic significance.

Among our major roles in bird management and habitat conservation, we conduct surveys; coordinate with public-private bird conservation partnerships; provide matching grants for partner-based conservation efforts; administer conservation laws and develop policies and regulations; and issue permits that allow individuals and organizations to participate in migratory bird conservation in a variety of ways.

We also help educate and engage our nation's youth in wildlife conservation topics and provide resources for parents and educators who want to help their students explore and appreciate our natural world and our feathered friends.

There are many ways that you can be involved in bird conservation! Buy a Federal Duck Stamp or Junior Duck Stamp, participate in a community citizen science project, mentor a child interested in learning to hunt, or simply grab your binoculars and step outside to watch birds in your backyard or at a park or  national wildlife refuge.

This short video gives an overview of the Migratory Bird Program and the work we do conserving America’s birds for present and future generations. 


U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Migratory Bird Program

Physical address: 5275 Leesburg Pike, MS-MB
Falls Church, VA 22041-3803
Telephone: 703-358-1714 or 1769; fax 703-358-2217 or 2272

Assistant Director’s Office
Name Title Phone Office Email
Jerome Ford Assistant Director 202/208-1050 Washington, DC  
Michael Johnson Deputy Assistant Director 703/358-1784 Falls Church, VA  
Delores Bigby Secretary 202/208-1050 Washington, DC Delores_Bigby@fws.gov
Noah Matson Migratory Bird Policy Advisor   Falls Church, VA  

 

Aviation
Name Title Phone Office Email
Anthony Lascano National Aviation Manager 571/213-3021 El Dorado Hills, CA Anthony_Lascano@fws.gov
Brian Mullin National Aviation Safety Specialist 208/387-5515 Boise, ID Brian_Mullin@fws.gov
Thomas Greil National Aviation Training Specialist   Boise, ID  
Christopher Greeley National Aviation Operations Specialist   Boise, ID  

 

Communications
Name Title Phone Office Email
Rachel Fisk Levin Senior Communication Coordinator 703/358-2405 Falls Church, VA Rachel_Levin@fws.gov
Brima Battle Visual Information Specialist 703/358-1923 Falls Church, VA Brima_Battle@fws.gov
Christopher Deets Outreach & Education Specialist 703/358-2109 Falls Church, VA Christopher_Deets@fws.gov

 

Operations and Program Support
Name Title Phone Office Email
Dan Patterson Branch Chief 703/358-2630 Falls Church, VA Dan_Patterson@fws.gov
Colleen Holland Finance Manager 703/358-2180 Falls Church, VA Colleen_Holland@fws.gov
Patricia Stover Administrative Officer 301-497-5581
703/358-2263
Laurel, MD
Falls Church, VA
Patricia_Stover@fws.gov
Celisa Riley Administrative Officer 703/358-2274 Falls Church, VA Celisa_Riley@fws.gov
Debbie Allen Program Financial Assistant 703/358-1757 Falls Church, VA Debbie_Allen@fws.gov
Dewey Mathis Travel Specialist & Program Assistant 703/358-1759 Falls Church, VA Dewey_Mathis@fws.gov
Allison Mitchell Receptionist 703/358-2325 Falls Church, VA Allison_Mitchell@fws.gov
Jana Myers Tribal Liaison & FOIA Specialist 703/358-2006 Falls Church, VA January_Myers@fws.gov

 

Division of Migratory Bird Management

Administration
Name Title Phone Office Email
Brad Bortner Division Chief 703/358-2026 Falls Church, VA Brad_Bortner@fws.gov
Ken Richkus Deputy Division Chief 703/358-1780 Falls Church, VA Ken_Richkus@fws.gov
Brian Millsap National Raptor Coordinator 505/761-4724 Albuquerque, NM Brian_Millsap@fws.gov
Eliza Savage Regulatory Analyst 703/358-2329 Falls Church, VA Eliza_Savage@fws.gov
Emily Bjerre Fish & Wildlife Biologist 301-497-5903 Haleiwa, HI Emily_Bjerre@fws.gov
Joel Pagel Raptor Ecologist 505-761-4756 Carlsbad, CA Joel_Pagel@fws.gov

 

DMBM - Flyway Representatives and Staff
Name Title Phone Office Email
Paul Padding Atlantic Flyway Representative 301/497-5851 Laurel, MD Paul_Padding@fws.gov
Tony Roberts Wildlife Biologist - Wildlife Biologist 301/497-5852 Laurel, MD Anthony_Roberts@fws.gov
James R. Kelley Mississippi Flyway Representative 612/713-5409 Bloomington, MN James_R_Kelley@fws.gov
David Fronczak Wildlife Biologist - Mississippi Flyway 612/713-5411 Bloomington, MN Dave_Fronczak@fws.gov
James Dubovsky Central Flyway Representative 303/275-2386 Lakewood, CO James_Dubovsky@fws.gov
Todd Sanders Pacific Flyway Representative 360/604-2562 Vancouver, WA Todd_Sanders@fws.gov
Steve Olson Wildlife Biologist - Pacific Flyway 503/231-6163 Vancouver, WA Steve_Olson@fws.gov

 

DMBM - Conservation and Regulated Take
Name Title Phone Office Email
Eric Kershner Branch Chief 703/358-2376 Falls Church, VA Eric_Kershner@fws.gov
Meghan C. Sadlowski Environmental Scientist 703/358-2218 Falls Church, VA Meghan_Sadlowski@fws.gov
Lesley Kordella Wildlife Biologist 703/358-1963 Falls Church, VA Lesley_Kordella@fws.gov
Ronald Kokel Fish & Wildlife Biologist 703/358-1967 Falls Church, VA Ronald_Kokel@fws.gov
Jerry Thompson Permit Chief 703/358-2016 Falls Church, VA Jerry_E_Thompson@fws.gov
Diana Whittington Wildlife Biologist 703/358-2010 Falls Church, VA Diana_Whittington@fws.gov

 

DMBM - Harvest Surveys
Name Title Phone Office Email
Kathleen Fleming Ecologist 301/497-5902 Laurel, MD Kathy_Fleming@fws.gov
Tommy Ceasar Survey Clerk 301/497-5991 Laurel, MD Tommy_Ceaser@fws.gov
Stephen Chandler Wildlife Biologist 301/395-6448 Onalaska, WI Stephen_Chandler@fws.gov
Susane Finucane Secretary 301/497-5980 Laurel, MD Susane_Finucane@fws.gov
Lamar Heckstall Survey Clerk 301/497-5989 Laurel, MD Lamar_Heckstall@fws.gov
Pam Mathias Lead Survey Clerk 301/497-5990 Laurel, MD Pam_Mathias@fws.gov
Robert V. Raftovich Wildlife Biologist 301/497-5984 Laurel, MD Robert_Raftovich@fws.gov
Christopher Cain Seasonal Bio-Tech   Anderson, CA  

 

DMBM - Migratory Bird Surveys
Name Title Phone Office Email
Mark Koneff Branch Chief 207/866-3344 Ext. 117 Orono, ME Mark_Koneff@fws.gov
Jim Bredy Wildlife Biologist (Pilot) 505/248-6630 Albuquerque, NM Jim_Bredy@fws.gov
Steve Earsom Wildlife Biologist (Pilot) 301/497-5901 Laurel, MD Stephen_Earsom@fws.gov
Terry Liddick Wildlife Biologist (Pilot) 301/497-5901 Spearfish, SD Terry_Liddick@fws.gov
Walter Rhodes Wildlife Biologist (Pilot) 301/497-5880 Bend, OR Walter_Rhodes@fws.gov
Robert Spangler Wildlife Biologist (Pilot) 303/275-2391 Lakewood, CO Rob_Spangler@fws.gov
Phil Thorpe Wildlife Biologist (Pilot) 303/275-2358 Lakewood, CO Phil_Thorpe@fws.gov
Sarah Yates Wildlife Biologist (Pilot) 301/708-9705 Orono, ME Sarah_Yates@fws.gov
James Wortham Wildlife Biologist (Pilot) 301/497-5882 Crystal River, FL Jim_Wortham@fws.gov

 

DMBM – Population and Habitat Assessment
Name Title Phone Office Email
Pat Devers Branch Chief 301/497-5549 Laurel, MD Patrick_Devers@fws.gov
Scott Boomer Wildlife Biologist 301/497-5970 Laurel, MD Scott_Boomer@fws.gov
Josh Dooley Goose Specialist 360/604-2564 Vancouver, WA Joshua_Dooley@fws.gov
Pamela Garrettson Wildlife Biologist 301/497-5865 Laurel, MD Pam_Garrettson@fws.gov
Mark Otto Biometrician 301/497-5872 Laurel, MD Mark_Otto@fws.gov
Rebecca Rau Wildlife Biologist 301/497-5862 Laurel, MD Rebecca_Rau@fws.gov
Frank Rivera Wildlife Biologist 301/497-5669 Laurel, MD Frank_Rivera@fws.gov
Mark Seamans Wildlife Biologist 301/497-5866 Lakewood, CO Mark_Seamans@fws.gov
Emily Silverman Biometrician 301/497-5801 Laurel, MD Emily_Silverman@fws.gov
Guthrie Zimmerman Population Ecologist 301/497-5744 Sacramento, CA Guthrie_Zimmerman@fws.gov
Nathan Zimpfer Population Ecologist 301/497-5869 Laurel, MD Nathan_Zimpfer@fws.gov

 

Division of Bird Habitat Conservation

Administration
Name Title Phone Office Email
Sarah Pearson Mott Division Chief 703/358-1910 Falls Church, VA Sarah_P_Mott@fws.gov

 

DBHC - Grants
Name Title Phone Office Email
Kari Duncan Branch Chief 703/358-2464 Falls Church, VA Kari_Duncan@fws.gov
Lacy Alison North American Wetland Conservation Act Canada Grant Administrator 703/358-2552 Falls Church, VA Lacy_Alison@fws.gov
Guy Foulks Neotropical Migratory Bird Conservation Act Grant Coordinator, North American Wetland Conservation Act Policy 703/358-1944 Falls Church, VA Guy_B_Foulks@fws.gov
Andrea Grosse Neotropical Migratory Bird Conservation Act Grant Administrator, North American Wetland Conservation Act Small Grant Administrator 703/358-2472 Falls Church, VA Andrea_Grosse@fws.gov
Anya Rushing North American Wetland Conservation Act Small Grant Administrator 703/358-2032 Falls Church, VA Anya_Rushing@fws.gov
Rodecia McKnight North American Wetland Conservation Act US Grant Administrator, North American Wetland Conservation Act Small Grant Coordinator 703/358-2463 Falls Church, VA Rodecia_McKnight@fws.gov
Stacy Sanchez Neotropical Migratory Bird Conservation Act, North American Wetland Conservation Act Program Support 703/358-2017 Falls Church, VA Stacy_Sanchez@fws.gov
Rachel Sullivan GIS/Data Steward 703/358-2621 Falls Church, VA Rachel_Sullivan@fws.gov
Justin Markey North American Wetland Conservation Act US Grant Administrator 703/358-2007 Falls Church, VA Justin_Markey@fws.gov
Douglas Phillips North American Wetland Conservation Act US Grant Administrator 703/358-2189 Falls Church, VA Doug_Phillips@fws.gov

 

DBHC - Science and Planning
Name Title Phone Office Email
David Gordon Branch Chief 703/358-2025 Falls Church, VA David_Gordon@fws.gov
Roxanne Bogart Urban Bird Treaty City Program Coordinator 413/253-8582 Hadley, MA Roxanne_Bogart@fws.gov
Jorge Coppen North American Waterfowl Management Plan Coordinator 301/497-5792 Laurel, MD Jorge_Coppen@fws.gov
Brad Andres National Shorebird Coordinator 303/275-2324 Lakewood, CO Brad_Andres@fws.gov
Bob Ford Partners in Flight Landbird Conservation Plan Coordinator 703/358-2317 Falls Church, VA Robert_P_Ford@fws.gov
Ken Kriese National Joint Venture Coordinator 703/358-1888 Falls Church, VA Ken_Kriese@fws.gov

 

Migratory Bird Duck Stamp Office
Name Title Phone Office Email
Vacant Branch Chief   Falls Church, VA  
Suzanne Fellows Duck Stamp Program Coordinator 703/358-2145 Falls Church, VA Suzanne_Fellows@fws.gov

 

All permits are issued by our Regional Permit Officies.

To report technical, content and accessibility problems with this web site, please contact the Web Manager.

Last Updated: February 15, 2017