ANS Taskforce logo

corner top left curve corner right top curve of image
The Aquatic Nuisance Species (ANS) Task Force
  • The Aquatic Nuisance Species (ANS) Task Force is an interagency committee established by the Nonindigenous Aquatic Nuisance Prevention and Control Act of 1990 (NANPCA, P.L.101-636) and chartered under the Federal Advisory Committee Act. The Task Force acts as a coordinating body in developing and implementing the national program for prevention, research, monitoring and control of infestations of nonindigenous aquatic species. The Task Force is charged with developing and implementing a program to prevent the introduction and dispersal of ANS in U.S. waters, to monitor, control and research such species, and to disseminate information regarding ANS.
  • The Task Force is currently comprised of 13 Federal Agencies and twelve ex-officio members and is co-chaired by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (the Service) and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). An Executive Secretary, provided by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, provides technical assistance and administrative support and facilitates the implementation of the Task Force Strategic Plan and other activities the Task Force undertakes to fulfill the provisions of the Act in addressing aquatic invasive species issues.
  • To obtain the necessary technical coordination of various ANS activities the Task Force has established several issue and/or species specific standing and ad hoc committees to carry out the Act. Committee membership includes all affected entities, including Federal and State agencies, tribes, non-governmental organizations, industry groups and academia.
  • Section 1203 of NANPCA created the Great Lakes Regional Panel and the Western Regional Panel to identify priorities, coordinate exotic species program activities and to advise public and private interests on control efforts in their region. The 1996 amendment required the Task Force to encourage the development of other Regional Panels to provide an intergovernmental mechanism for the development of a coordinated Federal program to prevent and control nonindigenous ANS as authorized by the Act.
  • 2009 ANS Task Force Charter
corner left curve of the image corner bottom curve of the image

Member Agencies
For questions, comments, or concerns regarding this web site, please contact
Copyright © 2011 - United States Federal Aquatic Nuisance Species Task Force - All Rights Reserved
US Forest ServiceNational Park ServiceUS Army Corps of Engineers
USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection ServiceUS Geological SurveyBureau of ReclamationNational Oceanic and Atmospheric AdministrationUS Maritime AdministrationUS Coast GuardState Department US Fish and Wildlife Service Environmental Protection Agency Bureau of Land Management