Polar Bear Recovery Team
The Polar Bear Recovery Team (not all members pictured) take a short break for a photo in May 2014 during a three-day planning meeting in Anchorage, Alaska.

About the Team

The Polar Bear Recovery Team was formed in 2013. Each member was invited by Geoffrey Haskett, the Regional Director of the Alaska Region of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.  The team includes a diversity of experts and perspectives on polar bears.  Each member was asked to serve either as an at-large member, or on one or more of the three working groups: policy, science and traditional ecological knowledge, communications. The overall management of the effort is led and coordinated by an Executive Steering Committee:

Jenifer Kohout (Co-Chair)
Program Supervisor, Fisheries & Ecological Services
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service (Alaska Region)
Anchorage, Alaska

Michael Runge, Ph.D (Co-Chair)
Research Ecologist, Patuxent Wildlife ResearchCenter
U. S. Geological Survey
Laurel, Maryland

Taqulik Hepa
Director, Department of Wildlife Management
North Slope Borough
Barrow, Alaska

Jack Omelak
Executive Director
Alaska Nanuuq Commission
Nome, Alaska

Kim Titus, Chief Wildlife Scientiest,  Division of Wildlife Conservation
Alaska Department of Fish and Game
Anchorage, Alaska

Craig Perham (Team Liaison)
Wildlife Biologist, Polar Bears
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Alaska Region)
Polar Bear Recovery Team Liaison
Anchorage, Alaska

Geoff York
Polar Bear International

Elisabeth Kruger
Arctic Bearing Sea Program Officer
World Wildlife Fund