Marine Mammals Management
Alaska Region


Alaska Native Hunters and Handicrafters


The U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service is authorized to conserve polar bears, Pacific walrus, and sea otters.  Under the Marine Mammal Protection Act and its implementing regulations Alaska Native peoples may hunt these species. For each species, we offer information you should be aware of before, during and after your hunt.  In addition, we provide information about making, selling and transporting marine mammal products.

Sea Otter Button
Click the Sea Otter
for Information
Walrus Button
Click the Walrus
for Information
Polar Bear Button
Click the Polar Bear
for Information