Fisheries & Ecological Services
Alaska Region   


Fairbanks Fish & Wildlife Field Office
Fisheries and Habitat Restoration



The Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act (ANILCA) of 1980 directs that fish populations and their habitats be maintained in their natural abundance and diversity within the 16 national wildlife refuges in Alaska. This branch works closely with in season federal subsistence fishery managers and the nine refuges in the region to satisfy these mandates by conducting a variety of assessment and monitoring projects that provide information critical to management of northern Alaska fish and their habitats.



Last updated: January 7, 2014