
 

Federal Duck Stamp Exemption for 
Subsistence Hunters  

 

 

A law was enacted to exempt qualified Alaska subsistence waterfowl hunters from 
having to purchase and carry a federal Duck Stamp. 

Who is eligible for the exemption from the requirement to purchase a Migratory 
Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp to hunt migratory birds in Alaska? 

 permanent resident of a village within a subsistence harvest area (50 CFR 
Part 92.4 and 92.5), or 

 federally qualified subsistence user (50 CFR Parts 92.4 and 100.23) 

When can an eligible person hunt migratory waterfowl without a Federal Duck 
Stamp? 

The times when you may hunt without a Federal Duck Stamp vary depending on 
how you qualify for this exemption. 

 permanent resident of a village within a subsistence harvest area, you may hunt 
migratory waterfowl without a Federal Duck Stamp during any waterfowl season 
in Alaska, including spring/summer subsistence season and the fall sport season. 

 federally qualified subsistence user (but NOT a resident of a village within a 
subsistence harvest area) you may hunt migratory waterfowl without a Federal 
Duck Stamp in Alaska during the fall sport season. 

Where can a qualified person hunt without a Federal Duck Stamp? 

If you qualify for this exemption, you may hunt migratory waterfowl without a 
Federal Duck Stamp anywhere in Alaska in accordance with state law, including 
relevant safety statutes. You must have a Federal Duck Stamp to hunt migratory 
waterfowl anywhere else in the United States. 

If a person is eligible for this exemption, does that person have to purchase and 
carry state-required licenses or stamps while hunting? 

All waterfowl hunters over 16 years or older are required to have a State hunting 
license and State Duck Stamp, except disabled veterans, those 60 years or older 
and those that qualify for a low income license. 


