National Wildlife Refuge System

Wilderness Forever Photo Contest

Ninety-percent of designated wilderness in the Refuge System is in Alaska, including Aghileen Pinnacles in Izembek Refuge.
Credit: John Sarvis

Wilderness Forever Photo Contest

There are 63 designated wilderness areas in the National Wildlife Refuge System, covering about 20 million acres. Most is in Alaska, but there are wilderness areas in 26 states, including New Jersey, Florida, Michigan and Montana.

2014 is the 50th anniversary of the Wilderness Act. How would you capture the sheer majesty and diversity of these wilderness areas in a photograph? The Wilderness Forever public photography contest will accept entries through September 3, 2013.  Approximately 50 winning entries will be displayed at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of Natural History in 2014.

Contest guidelines and entry instructions

Wilderness Forever: Celebrating 50 Years of American Wilderness

Officially Designated Wilderness Areas in the National Wildlife Refuge System

Last updated: May 10, 2013