Skip to main page content.

National Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15 to October 15)

Hispanic Heritage Month begins on September 15, the anniversary of independence for five Latin American countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. Mexico achieved independence on September 16, and Chile on September 18. Public Law 90-498 authorized an annual proclamation designating the week including September 15 and 16 as National Hispanic Heritage Week. Public Law 100-402, Approved August 17, 1988, authorized the designation of the National Hispanic Heritage Month inserting a thirty-one-day period beginning September 15 and ending on October 15.

Last updated: March 10, 2015