Endangered Species
Midwest Region


Midwest Region State Map

The Midwest Region includes Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin. Find a location near you


Endangered Species Program

Conserving and restoring threatened and endangered species and their ecosystems


Great Lake Restoration Initiative logo




Welcome to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's,

Midwest Region,

Section 7(a)(2) Technical Assistance Website


This website provides Section 7 consultation guidance for Federal agencies and their applicants (i.e., project proponents). This information is provided to allow project proponents to fulfill their initial Section 7(a)(2) obligations without having, if they choose, to contact our Field Offices.


We recommend that users of this site begin with the Step-by-Step Instructions until they are familiar with the Section 7 process.


Website Contents

Mission statement of Region 3's Section 7 Program: To assist Federal agencies and applicants in accomplishing their primary mandates while fully complying with the Endangered Species Act of 1973.


Proceed to step-by-step instructions


Last updated: February 6, 2019