Endangered Species
Midwest Region


Midwest Region State Map

The Midwest Region includes Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin. Find a location near you


Endangered Species Program

Conserving and restoring threatened and endangered species and their ecosystems


Great Lake Restoration Initiative logo




Endangered Species Act: Section 7(a)(2)

Section 7 Consultation


The Endangered Species Act (ESA) directs all Federal agencies to work to conserve endangered and threatened species and to use their authorities to further the purposes of the Act. Section 7 of the Act, called "Interagency Cooperation," is the mechanism by which Federal agencies ensure the actions they take, including those they fund or authorize, do not jeopardize the existence of any listed species.



Section 7 Consultation - A brief explanation of the consultation process


Section 7 Consultation Slideshow - a narrated slideshow that provides a brief overview of Section 7.


Section 7 Consultation Technical Assistance - Provides Section 7 consultation guidance for Federal agencies and their applicants (i.e., project proponents). This information is provided to allow project proponents to fulfill their Section 7(a)(2) obligations without having, if they choose, to contact our Field Offices.


Guidance for Preparing a Biological Assessment


Section 7 Consultation Handbook (look under Consultations Handbook)


Section 7 Information on the FWS National Site


Biological Opinions

USFWS Midwest Region Biological Opinions

Biological Opinions for Indiana and Northern Long-eared Bats



Transportation Projects

Federal Highway Administration, Federal Railroad Administration and Federal Transit Administration

S7 Consultation on Indiana Bat and Northern Long-eared Bat


Midwest Endangered Species Home


Last updated: February 6, 2019