Endangered Species
Midwest Region



Midwest Region State Map

The Midwest Region includes Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin. Find a location near you


Endangered Species Program

Conserving and restoring threatened and endangered species and their ecosystems


Great Lake Restoration Initiative logo

Region 3 Candidate Species

PDF version


These plants and animals have been sufficiently studied, and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service has decided that they should be proposed for threatened or endangered status. The listing priority number indicates the general order in which they will be proposed. Within each Region, the pace at which new listing proposals are completed depends upon the funding appropriated by Congress to the listing and classification portions of the FWS budget. (Bold type indicates states that are within Region 3.)


Information about the Service's Candidate Conservation Program (on National USFWS Endangered Species Website)



Rattlesnake-master Borer Moth (Papaipema eryngii)

Historical Range: AR, IL, KY, NC, OK

Current Range: AR, IL, KY, NC, OK
Lead Region: Region 3
Region 3 Lead Office: Rock Island Field Office
Listing Priority Number: 8
Listed as Candidate: 2013


Federal Register Notice of 12-Month Finding: Listing Warranted but Precluded (19-Page PDF Adobe PDF Icon)



USFWS Midwest Endangered Species Home


Last updated: March 12, 2018