
ALL applications will only be accepted by 

mail postmarked no later than September 

24
th

.  This is a new rule and includes the youth 

and archery hunts as well. 
 

Blackwater National Wildlife Refuge (NWR) is one of 

over 560 national wildlife refuges in the United States. The 

primary objective of a national wildlife refuge is to provide 

habitat for the conservation and protection of wildlife.   

 

APPLICATION GUIDELINES 

 Applications will be mailed to hunters that have 

participated in deer hunts at Blackwater NWR in the past 

3 years. 

 July 5
th

 - applications will be available at the Visitor 

Center from 9:00 am – 4:00 pm. 

 Completed hunt applications must be received through 

the mail. Include check or money order made out to the 

Friends of Blackwater in the appropriate amount. 

 Area U and B1* will be closed to archery during the 

Youth Hunt on November 1, 2014. 

 

Permit Application Fees 
Archery Application:  $20 

Quota Muzzleloader:  $10 

Non-Quota (Doe only) Muzzleloader:  $10 

Non-Quota Muzzleloader: $10 

Quota Shotgun:  $10 

Dec. Non-Quota Shotgun:  $20 

Jan. Non-Quota Shotgun: $20 

Youth Fees:  $5 for each hunt 

First Year Youth Hunter:  Free for Youth Hunt Day 

 

Note: Fees are reduced by ½ for Golden Age 

Passport/Senior Pass or Golden Access Passport/Access 

Pass holders. Pass numbers must be provided. 

 

PERMIT LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 

We require hunters to possess a valid Maryland hunting 

license and all required stamps, valid government-issued 

photo identification, and a valid hunting permit issued by 

the refuge. These items must be on their person at all times 

during refuge hunt and scout days. 

 

For hunt information, call Hunt Coordinator Allen 

Johnston at 410-228-5018.  During the quota hunts Allen 

may be contacted by cell phone at 443-205-5290. 

 

Report illegal activity or related information to:  

USFWS Law Enforcement 443-477-1934. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

REMEMBER!  

Your hunt permit authorizes you to take specified game 

only. Harming or needlessly disturbing any other wildlife 

is a violation of refuge regulations and is cause for 

prosecution.  The regulations listed in this brochure 

supplement the general regulations which govern hunting 

on national wildlife refuges set forth in Title 50: Part 32, 

Code of Federal Regulations. Individuals may have their 

permits revoked if found to be in violation of any Federal 

and State laws. Hunting will be in accordance with 

applicable State regulations and the following special 

refuge regulations. 

 

 

GENERAL REGULATIONS 
We require all hunters, regardless of age, to submit a Big 

Game Hunt Application by mail to obtain a permit. All 

permits are non-transferable. Only participants possessing 

authorized permits will be allowed to enter the hunt areas. 

  

Youth Hunt  
Hunters 16 years of age or younger may participate in the 

youth hunt if the individual possesses a valid hunting 

license or is exempt from Maryland hunting license 

requirements. Youth must be accompanied in the field by 

an individual who is 21 years old or older and possesses a 

valid Maryland hunting license, or is exempt from hunting 

license requirements, and is not afield with a firearm, bow 

or other hunting device. This year hunters will not check 

in prior to hunting.  

 

Hunters with disabilities 

We require all hunters with disabilities to provide, with 

their application, a copy of a valid Maryland DNR issued 

hunt from vehicle permit. Individuals with a disability may 

have an assistant during the hunt on designated areas of the 

refuge. Persons assisting a hunter with a disability must be 

at least 18 years of age and obey all refuge, State, and 

Federal laws and regulations. Persons assisting hunters 

with disabilities must not be afield with a hunting firearm, 

bow, or other hunting device. The use of ATVs is only 

permitted in areas Q2 and B1. However all vehicles 

including ATVs must stay on established roads and or field 

edges, unless posted otherwise.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Access 

Motorized vehicles are authorized for access only on 

designated roads and parking areas indicated on the hunt 

map. We prohibit the use of boats, floatation devices, 

ATVs, motorized off-road vehicles, and amphibious 

vehicles to access the refuge. Only hunters with disabilities 

are authorized by the refuge manager to use ATVs in area 

B1 and Q2. All other access is limited to walk-in or 

bicycles. Hunters may use bicycles to access hunt areas on 

designated hunt/scout days. We prohibit hunters taking 

bicycles off of designated roads and trails while on refuge 

lands. We require hunters to notify a refuge representative 

and receive permission from the refuge manager or 

designee prior to entering a closed area to retrieve game. 

 

Scouting 
Scouting will only be permitted by hunters with a permit 

from 7:00 am to sunset on September 5; October 12 & 26; 

November 23; December 14, 2014; and January 4 & 11, 

2015.  The Hunt Coordinator will be available to provide 

information at the Refuge Visitor Center during all scout 

days from 9:00 am -12:00 pm.  All youth hunt permit 

holders must be accompanied by an adult/guardian age 21 

or older. 

 

Tree Stands 

We only allow portable or temporary tree stands and blinds 

to be used while hunting. Tree stands may be pre-installed 

during the scouting days. We prohibit hunting from a 

permanently constructed tree stand or blind. We require 

hunters to mark in plain sight any tree stands or blinds left 

unattended on refuge property with your permit number 

and year. We also require hunters to remove all stands, 

blinds and marking devices, including flagging or tape, by 

sunset of the last day of designated “stand removal week” 

(Feb 1-8, 2015). We prohibit paint or any other permanent 

marker to mark trails. We prohibit screw-in steps, spikes, 

or other objects that may damage trees. The refuge will not 

be held responsible for damage, theft, or other hunter 

occupancy. Any stands left in a hunt area after February 8
th

 

will be confiscated and deemed abandoned property. 

 

ALL applications will only be accepted by 

mail postmarked no later than September 

24
th

.  This is a new rule and includes the  

youth and archery hunts as well. 
 

 

Other Regulations 

 Only participants possessing authorized hunt permits 

will be allowed to enter the hunt areas. 

 Hunters are prohibited from being on the refuge 

(including parking lots) between 9:00 pm & 4:30 am. 

 We prohibit the use of rimfire or centerfire rifles and 

all handguns including muzzleloading pistols for 

hunting. 

 We prohibit leaving deer entrails or other waste within 

50 feet of any trail, road, or Refuge structure.  

 Camping and campfires are not permitted. All cooking 

devices must be self-contained and these are restricted 

only to designated parking areas. 

  Hunt permit holders may not engage in guiding, 

outfitting, advertising, or audio or visual productions 

for commercial purposes. 

 Baiting is not permitted. 

 Use and/or possession of alcoholic beverages while 

hunting is prohibited. 

 Automatic, motion-activated, game, or trail cameras 

are prohibited on the refuge. 

 Driving deer is permitted only on December 11-13. 

 Area access and hunter participation can be revoked at 

the discretion of the Refuge Manager. 

 Shooting or hunting within 150 yards of any occupied 

structure is prohibited. 

 Shooting from, across or down any designated refuge 

road is prohibited.  An open gate designates a refuge 

road. 

 

Tagging and Checking Instructions  
Hunters who harvest deer during the quota hunts and 

the youth deer hunt must present deer for examination 

at the refuge check station (see map) on the day of the 

kill between 9:00 am and 8:00 pm. Hunters who fail to 

check deer during the regular operating hours of the 

check station will notify the refuge hunt coordinator of 

their kill to include species, area harvested, sex and for 

male deer the number of points on each antler, by 

noon of the following day. The Hunt Coordinator will 

be available from 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm at the Refuge 

Visitor Center during the non-quota muzzleloader and 

non-quota shotgun hunts.  Deer taken at Blackwater 

NWR will not count against your Maryland state bag 

limit.  In addition, ALL deer killed must be field-

tagged, recorded, and checked in accordance with 

state regulations. The public land code for Blackwater 

NWR is 543.  

 

 

 

 

 

Deer harvested during the refuge hunts will NOT count  

toward the State’s regional combined bag limit. 



 


