Wildlife and Hunting Heritage Conservation Council
Hunter with his dog. Credit: USFWS
Hunting Ruffed Grouse in the Chequamegon National Forest. Credit: USFWS

The Wildlife and Hunting Heritage Conservation Council (WHHCC) is an official advisory group established under the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA). The Council will advise the federal government – through the Departments of the Interior and Agriculture – about agency activities that benefit recreational hunting and wildlife resources, and activities that encourage partnership among the public, the sporting conservation community, the shooting and hunting sports industry, wildlife conservation organizations, and federal and state governments.

The Council consists of 18 discretionary members – appointed by the Secretary of the Interior and the Secretary of Agriculture to serve 3-year terms – and 7 non-voting, ex officio members representing five federal agencies (the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Bureau of Land Management, National Park Service, U.S. Forest Service, Natural Resources Conservation Service, and the Farm Service Agency) and the Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies.

The Council’s primary goal – as outlined in its charter - is to promote and preserve America’s wildlife and hunting heritage for future generations.

For more information, please contact:

Joshua Winchell, Coordinator
Wildlife and Hunting Heritage Conservation Council
c/o U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
(703) 358-2639

Last updated: December 31, 2014
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Home Page | Department of the Interior  | USA.gov  | About the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service  | Accessibility  | Privacy  | Notices  | Disclaimer  | FOIA | DOI Inspector General