Tewaukon National Wildlife Refuge
Mountain-Prairie Region
~ Refuge & District Today ~

Complex Facts:
The Complex includes Tewaukon NWR and Tewaukon WMD.

Tewaukon NWR
Established: 1934
Acres: 8,363 in fee title

Tewaukon WMD
Includes: Ransom, Richland, and Sargent Counties.
Waterfowl Production Areas: 106 units totaling 14,159 acres.
Wetland easements: 590 contracts protecting 34,824 wetland acres.
Grassland easements: 23 contracts totaling 10,757 acres.
Two easement and small fee refuges: 1,466 acres.

Tewaukon's operations are managed according to the Comprehensive Conservation Plan which was completed in 2000. This document can be seen in full, or is available in summary. Also available are maps.

Welcome to Tewaukon National Wildlife Refuge sign

Last updated: March 10, 2011