Hunt permits are $80.00 for each hunt period.
The application period for hunt permits is only during the month of
Scouting in the hunt units is allowed only November 7, 8, 14 and 15,
All hunt fees are non-refundable. All hunts may be cancelled
without notice for public safety or resource protection reasons (e.g., high
Hunt permits are not transferable.
The bag limit for each hunt period is two white-tailed deer: one
female and one male; or two females. Unlimited feral hogs and nilgai antelope
may be taken as these are invasive species.
A meat cooler is available at the Refuge check station for
temporary storage of game. Game must be
collected at the end of your hunt period.
Texas State Hunting Regulations apply to hunting on the Refuge. We
encourage you to contact the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department at
1-800/792-1112 or www.tpwd.state.tx.us for complete information.
The Refuge hunt check station can be reached at 956-371-0773 during
the hunt periods.
Hunters with mobility impairments who want to request special
access accommodations must contact the Assistant Refuge Manager by October 31
to obtain the application forms.
Hunters using the Refuge are subject to inspections of permits,
licenses, hunting equipment, bag limits, vehicles, and their contents by Refuge
and State law enforcement officers.
Cattle Fever Tick Quarantine is still in effect on the Refuge and
additional procedures related to this issue will be distributed prior to the
Important Refuge Regulations: (1) Taking or collecting any plant or
animal (including venomous snakes) is prohibited, except as specifically
authorized by this permit. (2) The use of artificial lights (including car
headlights and game cameras) to locate, observe, or take animals is prohibited.
(3) Fires, littering, target practice, and commercial guiding are prohibited.
(4) The disturbing, molesting, or interfering with any person engaged in the
pursuit of an authorized activity on the Refuge is prohibited. (5) The maximum
speed limit on Refuge roads is 25 mph unless otherwise posted.
Special Caution: Africanized honey bees, alligators, cougars and
rattlesnakes are in the area. Stay alert and watch for bee activity and be
cautious of venomous snakes and stinging/biting insects. Wearing of snake
guards or boots is recommended.
Archery Hunt Dates:
Hunt #1 is November 20 - 24, 2015 (May set up stands November 19)
Hunt #2 is November 28 - December 2, 2015 (May set up stands
Hunt #3 is December 10 - 14, 2015 (May set up stands December 9)
Permits: Issued on a
first-come, first-served basis in person or by mail. Issued Monday – Friday, 7:30 – 4, August 1-31
or until sold out. A total of 800
permits may be issued for the archery season split evenly among the three hunts.
Application: You may apply
for a maximum of two archery hunts.
Submit the $80.00 hunt fee for each hunt you apply for with your
application. Cash, check or money orders are accepted in person. Checks and money orders are accepted by mail.
Note: No permit will be issued if a mailed application is not
postmarked during the month of August or if all permits have already been
issued. Checks and money orders will be returned if mailed in and a hunt is
Legal Weapons During Archery Hunts:
Bows and arrows must meet minimum requirements of Texas State laws and
regulations. Only long bows, compound bows and recurved bows are permitted.
Crossbows may be used by hunters with an upper limb disability but a special
use permit is required–contact Refuge Manager by October 31.
Click here to download a copy of the Archery Regulations and Map.
Click here to download an application for Archery Hunt #1.
Click here to download an application for Archery Hunt #2.
Click here to download an application for Archery Hunt #3.
Firearm Hunt Dates:
Hunt #1 is December 18 - 20, 2015
Hunt #2 is December 26 - 28, 2015
Hunt #3 is January 2 - 4, 2016
Hunt #4 is January 8 - 10, 2016
Hunt #5 is January 15 - 17, 2016
Permits: 175 total permits, 35 hunters per hunt. Hunters will be
selected by computer random drawing in early September. Successful applicants
will be notified by mail and assigned to a hunt period.
Application: You may submit one application for the firearm hunts
between August 1 and August 31. Mailed applications must be postmarked within
the month of August. DO NOT mail fee with your application. A maximum of three
people may be listed on each application. If your application is randomly
selected, all applicants listed will be offered the opportunity to purchase
hunt permits. Applicants listed on more than one “Firearm Hunt” application
will result in those applications being voided.
Legal Weapons During Firearm Hunts: Only shoulder-fired modern
rifles, muzzle-loading black powder (or equivalent powder) firearms, and
crossbows are allowed. Black powder firearms must be .40 caliber or larger and
modern firearms must be center-fire and .22 caliber or larger. Shotguns are not
are mandatory for all firearm hunters. Orientation is scheduled for 8:00 a.m.
on the first day of your selected hunt.
Click here to download a copy of the Firearm Regulations and Map.
Click here to download a Firearm Application.
For Additional Information
Laguna Atascosa National
22817 Ocelot Road
Los Fresnos, Texas 78566