Reelfoot National Wildlife Refuge
Southeast Region
Map of the Southeast Region Map of Kentucky Map of the Caribbean and Navassa Map of North Carolina Map of Tennessee Map of South Carolina Map of Arkansas Map of Louisiana Map of Mississippi Map of Alabama Map of Georgia Map of Florida

When preparing an entry for the Junior Duck Stamp competition, select from among the following list of 45 qualifying species of swans, geese, and ducks:


  • Trumpeter Swan
  • Tundra Swan

Geese & Brant:

  • Greater White-fronted Goose
  • Snow Goose (including blue phase)
  • Ross's Goose
  • Emperor Goose
  • Canada Goose
  • Brant

Dabbling Ducks:

  • American Wigeon
  • Gadwall
  • Green-winged Teal
  • Mallard
  • Mottled Duck
  • American Black Duck
  • Northern Pintail
  • Blue-winged Teal
  • Cinnamon Teal
  • Northern Shoveler

Diving Ducks:

  • Canvasback
  • Redhead
  • Ring-necked Duck
  • Greater Scaup
  • Lesser Scaup

Perching Duck:

  • Wood Duck

Sea Ducks:

  • Common Eider
  • King Eider
  • Spectacled Eider
  • Stellar's Eider
  • Harlequin Duck
  • Long-tailed Duck (formerly called Oldsquaw)
  • Black Scoter
  • Surf Scoter
  • White-winged Scoter
  • Bufflehead
  • Common Goldeneye
  • Barrow's Goldeneye

Whistling Ducks:

  • Fulvous Whistling-duck
  • Black-bellied Whistling-duck


  • Hooded Merganser
  • Red-breasted Merganser
  • Common Merganser

Stiff Tail Duck:

  • Ruddy Duck

Hawaiian Species:

  • Koloa
  • Laysan Duck
  • Nene Goose

Please note that mute swans, loons, coots, herons, and egrets are not permitted.


Last updated: April 11, 2014