Wildlife and Sport Fish Restoration
Northeast Region


The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Northeast Region Division of Wildlife and Sport Fish Restoration works closely with state fish and wildlife agencies to restore and manage fish and wildlife resources to meet the needs of the public.

To accomplish this, we:

  • Work with the 13 Northeastern States and the District of Columbia
  • Manage over 800 Grants
  • Distributes approximately $116,000,000 to 31 state fish and wildlife agencies

What's New

Wildlife Management Areas – Connect with Nature – Conserve Habitat

Pittman-Robertson Wildlife Restoration funds are used to purchase and conduct operations, maintenance and management on a network of lands known as Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) across the country.   In the Northeast Region, Wildlife Management Areas were first instituted in the early 1900s by state fish and wildlife agencies for the conservation of fish, wildlife and their habitat, as well as giving people the opportunity to participate in wildlife based outdoor activities.  WMA’s provide the public with opportunities for hunting, fishing, trapping, shooting ranges, wildlife observation and photography, environmental education and other outdoor activities.  Within Northeast Region states, there are over 1,183 WMA’s that encompass over 3,250,000 acres of habitat.   These WMAs range from several dozen acres to over 25,000 acres in size and connect people with nature and provide important wildlife habitat.  Collectively, WMAs represent the Northeast Region’s premier network of lands dedicated to wildlife conservation. WMAs have been purchased over time using several funding sources in addition to Wildlife Restoration funds  These include hunting license fees, state Duck Stamp funds, North American Wetland Conservation funds, Land and Water Conservation funds,  State Bond funds, landowner and partner contributions and other state specific funds as well.   Wildlife Restoration excise tax dollars, coupled with state hunting license fees, have been the predominant source of funding for the habitat management and administration of Wildlife Management Areas. WMA regulations vary by state, but they are generally open to hunting, trapping, fishing and other wildlife related outdoor activities. Other uses may require a special use permit or may be prohibited.   For more information on individual WMA’s, maps, and public uses click on the corresponding state below.













New Hampshire


New Jersey


New York




Rhode Island


 Vermont  http://www.anr.state.vt.us/fwd/WmaLocator.aspx 



West Virginia




Northeast Region Wildlife and Sport Fish Restoration Program 75th Anniversary Video


Fiscal Year 2014 Apportionments

Tribal Notification

Wildlife & Sport Fish Restoration logo




Search by State

Region 5 Map
Click for more information on Division of Wildlife and Sport Fish Restoration programs in each of the Northeast Region's States.

Link to info about WSFR in Maine Link to info about WSFR in New Hampshire Link to info about WSFR in Vermont Link to info about WSFR in Massachusetts Link to info about WSFR in Rhode Island Link to info about WSFR in Connecticut Link to info about WSFR in New York Link to info about WSFR in Pennsylvania Link to info about WSFR in New Jersey Link to info about WSFR in Maryland Link to info about WSFR in Delaware Link to info about WSFR in West Virginia Link to info about WSFR in Virginia (Click here for Washington D.C.)


Last updated: October 21, 2013

Wildlife and Sport Fish Restoration Home
Northeast Region Home

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Home Page | Department of the Interior  | USA.gov  | About the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service  | Accessibility  | Privacy  | Notices  | Disclaimer  | FOIA